Field Set for 2007 NCAA en's Gymnastics Championships

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Every Big Ten men's gymnastics program earned a spot in the 2007 NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships. All six conference teams will compete for the national title for the sixth straight season, the longest streak of success in more than four decades. The six conference squads will make up half of the 12-team NCAA Championships field and will face off on Penn State's campus at Rec Hall on Thursday-Saturday, April 12-14.

The Big Ten sends six teams to the national championships in six straight seasons for the first time since 1960, a year that marked the conclusion of seven straight years with six or more teams advancing to the NCAA Championships. That string of success included four national titles with Illinois claiming solo crowns in 1955 and 1956, and the Fighting Illini splitting the national title with conference-foe Michigan State in 1958. Last year, the Big Ten advanced all six programs to the NCAA Championships with Illinois claiming a second-place showing. The Fighting Illini were followed by Penn State (4th) and Iowa (6th), which closed out the top six.

The Big Ten has earned four national championships in the last eight seasons, including trophies for Penn State in 2004 and 2000, Ohio State in 2001 and Michigan in 1999. The conference placed at least three schools among the top five in the country in seven of the last eight NCAA Championships.

The Buckeyes enter the 2007 NCAA meet as the nation's No. 1 team after clinching their third consecutive Big Ten crown and 12th in school history. Ohio State will be making its conference record 27th-consecutive appearance and vying for its fourth national title as the Buckeyes won in 2001, 1996 and 1985. Third-ranked Penn State, which boasts an NCAA-record 11 national titles, including the 2000 and 2004 crowns as a member of the Big Ten, will be making its ninth-straight appearance in the NCAA Championships. No. 5 Michigan is making its ninth straight appearance and 30th overall, while sixth-ranked Minnesota ranks second in the conference after collecting its 38th bid and sixth straight appearance. Illinois, which is ranked No. 8, will be making its sixth straight appearance and 36th overall, as the team tops all conference programs with nine national championships. Iowa is ranked ninth nationally and leads all conference entries with 39 NCAA appearances, including the last seven seasons.

The national qualifier, which consists of two pre-qualifying sessions, will be conducted on April 12. Three teams and the top three all-around competitors not on one of the qualifying teams, plus the top three individuals on each event not already qualified on a team or as an all-around competitor, will advance from each pre-qualifying session to the finals, which will take place April 13-14.