Illinois and Michigan Share Big Ten Team Championship

April 3, 2009

Championship Central

The No. 4-ranked University of Illinois and the No. 5-ranked University of Michigan Men's Gymnastics teams captured a share of the Big Ten team title on Friday night at Crisler Arena with scores of 357.100. The Wolverines thrilled a partisan maize and blue home crowd to garner its 15th conference title and its first since 2000, while the Illini claimed their first Big Ten crown in five seasons. The Wolverines' 15 conference championships ranks third in the conference for most titles won, while co-champion Illinois holds the most with 24.

Michigan's Thomas Kelley, the 2008 Freshman of the Year, captured the all-around title, edging fellow Wolverine sophomore Chris Cameron to win the event with a mark of 89.350.  Rounding out the top five all-around finishers were Ohio State's Jake Bateman, Penn State's Noam Shaham and Iowa's Jonathan Buese.

The second session of the Championships will begin Saturday at 7 p.m. The top individual scorers on each apparatus (plus ties) from the team competition will advance to the event finals. Individual event champions will be crowned immediately following the second session.

Final Team Standings

Place Team Score
1. Illinois 357.100
  Michigan 357.100
3. Ohio State 349.900
4. Minnesota 348.000
5. Penn State 340.800
6. Iowa 337.750