Big Ten Announces Men's Gymnasts Individual Award Winners

April 5, 2009

The Big Ten announced the 2008 Men’s Gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners at the conclusion of this year’s conference Championships. After winning the all-around event on Friday, Michigan's Thomas Kelley captured the conference’s highest honor, as he was named Big Ten Gymnast of the Year while Ohio State's Philip Onorato earned the nod as Freshman of the Year. Illinois’ head general Yoshi Hayasaki was also honored as Big Ten Coach of the Year after leading the Illini to a share of the conference team title on Friday. It is the fourth time Hayasaki has received the conference honor in his 33 years at Illinois.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These seven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Individual Event Winners
All-Around – Thomas Kelley, Michigan
Floor Exercise – Paul Ruggeri, Illinois
Pommel Horse – Luke Stannard, Illinois
Still Rings – Phillip Goldbert, Michigan
Vault – Geoff Reins, Iowa
Parallel Bars – Paul Ruggeri, Illinois
High Bar – Joe Catrambone, Michigan

All-Big Ten First Team
Luke Stannard, Illinois
Paul Ruggeri, Illinois
Geoff Reins, Iowa
Phillip Goldberg, Michigan
Thomas Kelley, Michigan
Chris Cameron, Michigan
Joe Catrambone, Michigan
Aaron Fortunato, Minnesota
Jake Bateman, Ohio State
Philip Onorato, Ohio State

All-Big Ten Second Team
Kit Beikmann, Minnesota
Russell Dabrtiz, Minnesota

Gymnast of the Year
Thomas Kelley, Michigan

Freshman of the Year
Philip Onorato, Ohio State

Coach of the Year
Yoshi Hayasaki, Illinois

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jonathan Buese, Iowa
Luke Stannard, Illinois
Phillip Goldberg, Michigan
Alex Quast, Minnesota
Pejman Ebrahimi, Ohio State
Josh Borromeo, Penn State 

Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Championships Central 

Full Story