Big Ten Championships Conclude with Event Finals, All-Conference Selections

Penn State's Trevor Howard was named Freshman of the Year.

April 6, 2013

Minneapolis, Minn. -

2013 Results Get Acrobat Reader

The second day of the 2013 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships saw individual event winners crowned and All-Conference teams and award winners announced on Saturday night. Four schools won event titles, including three from Big Ten Champion Michigan and one each from Illinois, Iowa and Penn State

Michigan’s Stacey Ervin took home the event title in the floor exercise, totaling 15.800 points, while teammate Syque Caesar won the parallel bars competition with a score of 15.025 points. Wolverine Sam Mikulak, last night’s all-around winner, was crowned the high bar champion for the second time in as many years after posting a score of 15.700. Penn State’s Craig Hernandez took home the pommel horse championship for the second consecutive year, finishing with a score of 15.475. Iowa’s Javier Balboa claimed the still rings title after posting a score of 15.500 and Illinois’ Fred Hartville won the vault competition, totaling 15.500 points.

The individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were announced following competition on Saturday Mikulak was voted Big Ten Gymnast of the Year for the second time, as he also earned the honor in 2011. A Wolverine has claimed Gymnast of the Year honors four times in the last five years and six times overall. Penn State’s Trevor Howard claimed Freshman of the Year accolades, the third Nittany Lion to win the award and first since Felix Aronovich in 2010. Michigan head coach Kurt Golder was voted Big Ten Coach of the Year for the third time and first since winning back-to-back honors in 1999 and 2000.

The conference also recognized seven sportsmanship award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship honorees can be found below.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Fred Hartville, ILL
Yoshi Mori, ILL
Javier Balboa, IOWA
Broderick Shemansky, IOWA
Stacey Ervin, MICH
Syque Caesar, MICH
Sam Mikulak, MICH
Adrian de los Angeles, MICH
Felix Aronovich, PSU
Craig Hernandez, PSU

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Mike Wilner, ILL
Ellis Mannon, MINN
Louis Klein, NEB
Danny Steiner, OSU

Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Sam Mikulak, MICH

Big Ten Freshman of the Year:
Trevor Howard, PSU

Big Ten Coach of the Year:
Kurt Golder, MICH

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Logan Bradley, ILL
Eric Lofstrom, IOWA
Stacey Ervin, MICH
Adam LaFleur, MINN
Gabriel Jolley, NEB
Drew Moling, OSU
Scott Rosenthal, PSU