Big Ten to Field All Six Conference Programs at NCAA Meet

April 8, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The 2009 National Collegiate Men’s Gymnastics National Qualifier selections were announced today by the NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Committee.  All six of the Big Ten men’s gymnastics teams were selected to compete, continuing the conference’s streak of eight straight years where all Big Ten programs will be represented. 

Iowa will make its 41st appearance to the annual event and looks to claim its team’s second national title, having won the championship in 1969.

Minnesota enters its 40th NCAA meet in school history, second most among Big Ten schools as they look to garner first-place honors.

Ohio State will make the trip for the 28th consecutive year and the program’s 38th overall.  The Buckeyes own three all-time national titles in men’s gymnastics with the most recent in 2001.

Illinois looks to get back to the podium after finishing third last season as the Illini make their 36th overall NCAA appearance.  The Orange and Blue have won the national title a conference record nine times.

Michigan will make its 32nd all-time NCAA showing, having gone 11 straight seasons.  The wolverines own three national titles with the most recent in 1999.

Penn State also looks to get back on the podium after its fourth-place finish in 2008.  The Nittany Lions make their 16th all-time appearance at the national meet and have had the most recent success of all Big Ten programs winning the NCAA trophy three times in the past nine years.

Competition begins on Thursday, April 16 at the Sports Pavilion on the campus of the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.

Click here for more information