All Seven Big Ten Schools Set to Participate in NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships

April 8, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – All seven Big Ten men’s gymnastics teams will begin competition at the NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championships on Thursday, hosted at the University of Michigan’s Crisler Center. Teams will compete in one of two pre-qualifying sessions on Thursday in advance of the team and all-around finals on Friday, while the individual event finals will be held on Saturday.

The top three teams and the top three all-around competitors not on one of the qualifying teams will advance from each pre-qualifying session to the finals session. In addition, the top three individuals from each event not already qualified on a team or as an all-around competitor will also advance.

On Thursday at 1 p.m. ET, No. 5 Illinois and No. 8 Iowa will compete in the first pre-qualifying session, while No. 2 Michigan, No. 3 Ohio State, No. 6 Penn State, No. 7 Minnesota and No. 11 Nebraska will participate in the second pre-qualifying session at 7 p.m. Team and all-around finals will begin at 7 p.m. on Friday, while individual event finals are slated for Saturday at 7 p.m. All four sessions will be streamed online via, while BTN will broadcast Friday’s finals session.

The Wolverines won the 2013 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championship and junior Sam Mikulak was crowned the all-around champion, marking Michigan’s second national championship in four years and its fifth overall. The crown was the third championship by a Big Ten school in the last four years, as the Fighting Illini claimed the national title in 2012.