Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships Conclude with Event Finals

April 9, 2017

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Individual event winners were crowned on the second day of the Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships, which concluded with the conference announcing the All-Big Ten teams and postseason award winners. Event titles were claimed by gymnasts from four schools, including champions from Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska and Ohio State.

Illinois claimed three event titles at the 2017 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships. The Fighting Illini’s Johnny Jacobson claimed the parallel bars title (14.550), Alec Diab successfully defended his still rings title (14.875) and Brandon Ngai finished at the top of the podium for pommel horse (14.825).  Minnesota’s Alex Wittenberg won floor exercise with a score of 14.550, while Nebraska’s Anton Stephenson won the vault with a score of 14.975. Ohio State’s Jake Martin claimed the high bar title after posting a score of 14.375.

The individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were announced following competition on Saturday. Penn State’s Sam Zakutney was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, becoming the first Nittany Lion to earn the honor since Trevor Howard in 2013. Ohio State’s Sean Melton earned the inaugural Big Ten Gymnast of the Championships award, while Minnesota’s Mike Burns was tabbed the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Burns earned the first accolade for the Gophers since winning the award in 2007.

The All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship award honorees can be found below.

Individual Awards

Big Ten Gymnast of the Championships: Sean Melton, Ohio State

Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Sam Zakutney, Penn State

Big Ten Coach of the Year: Mike Burns, Minnesota

2017 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team



Alex Diab, Illinois

Johnny Jacobson, Illinois

Brandon Ngai, Illinois

Emyre Cole, Michigan

Justin Karstadt, Minnesota

Alex Wittenberg, Minnesota

Anton Stephenson, Nebraksa

Chris Stephenson, Nebraska

Jake Martin, Ohio State

Sean Melton, Ohio State

Second Team

Bobby Baker, Illinois

Tyson Bull, Illinois

Matthew Foster, Illinois

Cory Paterson, Iowa

Yaroslav Pochinka, Minnesota

Jake Dastrup, Ohio State

Seth Delbridge, Ohio State

Alex Yoder, Ohio State

Wyatt Tyndall, Penn State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Matthew Foster, Illinois

Jake Brodarzon, Iowa

Emyre Cole, Michigan

Mitchell Soukop, Minnesota

Connor Adamsick, Nebraska

Jake Martin, Ohio State

Wyatt Tyndall, Penn State