Big Ten Men's Gymnastics to Compete in 2011 NCAA Championships

April 13, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format

All six Big Ten men's gymnastics teams are set to compete in the NCAA Championships, hosted by Ohio State on April 14-16. The conference makes up half of the 12-team field that will compete for the national title this weekend.

Two qualifying rounds will take place on Thursday at 1 p.m. and 7 p.m. ET, with team and all-around finals following on Friday at 7 p.m. Individual event finals will wrap up the championships on Saturday at 7 p.m.

Big Ten Champion Illinois holds the fourth-highest national qualifying average in the country at 354.600. Penn State follows at No. 5 (351.283), while defending national champion Michigan ranks sixth (350.708). Ohio State enters the championships at No. 7 (345.800), while Minnesota ranks eighth (345.367) and Iowa holds No. 11 (341.025).

Illinois, Minnesota and Penn State will compete in the first qualifying session, while Iowa, Michigan and Ohio State will compete in the second session. Three teams and the top three all-around competitors not on one of the qualifying teams, plus the top three individuals on each event not already qualified on a team or as an all-around competitor, will advance from each session of the qualifier to the NCAA Championships.