Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Season in Review

Big Ten Gymnast and Freshman of the Year Sam Mikulak won the NCAA all-around title.

May 9, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format

Big Ten men's gymnastics concluded the 2011 season with four individual national champions and three teams in the NCAA Team Finals. Illinois, Michigan and Penn State represented the conference in the team finals, while the Illini's Tyler Mizoguchi and Daniel Ribeiro, the Wolverines' Sam Mikulak and Ohio State's Brandon Wynn each took home individual titles.

Mikulak became the second consecutive Wolverine gymnast and third Big Ten gymnast in the last four seasons to win the NCAA all-around title, taking the crown with a score of 90.750. Mizoguchi won the national title on parallel bars, posting a 15.200 to lead the field. Ribeiro earned his second pommel horse crown with a mark of 15.500, while Wynn notched his second-straight still rings title with a score of 16.000. In all, the conference reeled in 24 All-America honors across the six events and all-around competition.

Illinois led the way for the Big Ten contingent at the team finals, placing third with a team score of 360.150. Michigan placed fifth with a mark of 356.200 while Penn State followed in sixth at 355.700. Minnesota and Ohio State took fourth place at their respective NCAA Qualifiers, while Iowa placed fifth.

At the 2011 Big Ten Championships, Illinois won its third consecutive conference title, posting a team score of 355.550 en route to first place. Michigan placed second (352.750) followed by Ohio State in third (350.000), Penn State in fourth (349.000), Minnesota in fifth (344.400) and Iowa in sixth (339.300).

Mikulak earned Big Ten Gymnast and Freshman of the Year after taking first place in the all-around competition at the conference championships. Teammates Syque Caesar and Ian Makowske also won individual titles as Caesar picked up the parallel bars crown and Makowske won the horizontal bar title. Ribeiro and teammate Chad Wiest won championships on the pommel horse and floor exercise, respectively. Minnesota's Zack Chase earned the vault title, while Wynn took the rings crown. Illinois' Justin Spring rounded out the individual conference awards, picking up his second-straight Coach of the Year honor.