Big Ten Announces Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

May 15, 2014


The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two student-athletes from each of the 12 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year's 24 recipients span 19 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including five student-athletes who plan to enroll in medical school and three honorees that will enter law school. This year's honorees are also pursuing graduate degrees in diverse fields of study, including bioengineering, classical studies, counseling psychology, electrical engineering, finance and investments, mechanical engineering and physics.

All 24 of the recipients have been named Academic All-Big Ten at least once in their career, while four have been tabbed Academic All-Americans - Illinois' Bruno Abdelnour, Iowa's James Morris, Michigan State's Kristen Kelsay and Ohio State's Michael Newburger. Two student-athletes helped lead their teams to Big Ten Championships this season, including Michigan's David Moore (men's swimming & diving) and Northwestern's Maria Kovalchuk (field hockey). Newburger was the 2013 NCAA Champion on the pommel horse.

Four postgraduate scholarship winners - Iowa's Morris, Michigan's Moore, Michigan State's Kelsay and Minnesota's Justin Morinishi  - have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees in their respective sports so far this academic year. Two Big Ten student-athletes received All-Big Ten recognition in their respective sports thus far this season, as Indiana's Eric Ress and Iowa's Morris earned All-Conference honors.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Student-athletes must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program. 



The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student's postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.  

The complete list of 2013-14 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Bruno Abdelnour, Men's Tennis
Anne Goering, Women's Swimming & Diving

Meghan Lappan, Women's Water Polo
Eric Ress, Men's Swimming & Diving

James Morris, Football
Marike Stribos, Field Hockey

David Moore, Men's Swimming & Diving
Kiley Tobel, Women's Track & Field

Michigan State
Jacob Jarzen, Men's Swimming & Diving
Kristen Kelsay, Women's Volleyball

Rachel Drake, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Justin Morinishi, Men's Gymnastics

Brandon Chapek, Football
Sunny Russell, Women's Rifle

Maria Kovalchuk, Field Hockey
Daniel Tyson, Baseball

Ohio State
Michael Newburger, Men's Gymnastics
Alexandra Norris, Women's Swimming & Diving

Penn State
Lindsay Musgrove, Women's Gymnastics
Matthew Salig, Men's Swimming & Diving

Cody Davis, Football
Kyle Mosier, Wrestling

Michael Brice, Men's Track & Field/Cross Country
Ilana Friedman, Women's Ice Hockey