Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Ellis Mannon (Minnesota)

Mannon won Minnesota's first NCAA title on pommel horse since 2002.

Mannon won Minnesota's first NCAA title on pommel horse since 2002.

June 20, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Ellis Mannon – Minnesota – Gymnastics

After finishing as the pommel horse national runner-up his sophomore year, Mannon took home top honors in 2014. The junior posted a score of 15.425, his second-highest score of the season, to win Minnesota's first pommel horse NCAA title since 2002. He was named an All-American for his finish at the NCAA Championships. During his junior year, Mannon also claimed the Big Ten pommel horse championship and earned a place on the All-Big Ten first team. Mannon scored the third-highest NCAA men's pommel horse score of all time early in the season with a 15.950 at the Windy City Invitational. Click HERE for more information on Ellis.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics



Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics