Ohio State Men's Gymnastics Tabbed Big Ten Preseason Favorite
Dec. 14, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Ohio State men's gymnastics team earned top honors in the Big Ten Preseason Coaches' Poll for the fourth consecutive season, the conference office announced Thursday. The Buckeyes, who have won 14 total and two consecutive Big Ten Championships, were followed by No. 2 Minnesota, No. 3 Illinois, No. 4 Nebraska and No. 5 Penn State. Iowa and Michigan were ranked sixth and seventh in the preseason poll, respectively.

The Big Ten also announced the 2017 Big Ten Gymnasts to Watch list, with four Academic All-Big Ten honorees and returning for the 2018 campaign. Illinois' Alex Diab, a 2017 All-Big Ten first-team selection, and Chandler Eggleston, Minnesota's Alex Wittenberg, a 2017 All-Big Ten first-team selection, and Nebraska's Antonio Castro were all recognized with the academic honor last season.

Iowa's Bennet Huang and Rogelio Vazquez, Michigan's Cameron Bock and Jacob Moore, Minnesota's Jalon Stephens, Nebraska's Kyle King, Ohio State's Sean Melton, the 2017 Big Ten Gymnast of the Championships, and Alec Yoder, an All-Big Ten second-team honoree, as well as Penn State's Stephen Nedoroscik and Sam Zakutney, the 2017 Freshman of the Year, were also named to the Gymnasts to Watch list.

Last season, the Buckeyes finished second at the NCAA Championships, followed by the Illini, Gophers and Huskers in third, fifth and sixth places, respectively. Penn State's Stephen Nedoroscik claimed the national title on the pommel horse in his first collegiate season for the Nittany Lions.

The 2018 Big Ten men's gymnastics season gets underway in January.

The complete Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Preseason Coaches' Poll and Gymnasts to Watch List can be found below.

1. Ohio State
2. Minnesota
3. Illinois
4. Nebraska
5. Penn State
6. Iowa
7. Michigan

Alex Diab, Jr., ILL*
Chandler Eggleston, Sr., ILL*
Bennet Huang, Fr., IOWA
Rogelio Vazquez, Jr., IOWA
Cameron Bock, Fr., MICH
Jacob Moore, Fr., MICH
Jalon Stephens, Sr., MINN
Alex Wittenberg, Sr., MINN*
Antonio Castro, Sr., NEB*
Kyle King, Sr., NEB
Sean Melton, Sr., OSU
Alec Yoder, Jr., OSU
Stephen Nedoroscik, So., PSU
Sam Zakutney, So., PSU

* denotes Academic All-Big Ten honoree