Big Ten Hockey Weekly Release

March 15, 2017

Big Ten Hockey Release PDF Get Acrobat Reader

• The 2017 Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament will open Thursday at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit, Mich. Thursday will feature a pair of quarterfinals leading into Friday’s semifinals. The championship game is slated for 8 p.m. ET on Saturday. Single-session tickets are still on sale for the tournament. Tickets can be purchased at the Joe Louis Arena Box Office, all Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at 800-745-3000 and online at

• As the top two seeds in the tournament, Minnesota and Wisconsin each secured byes to the semifinal round. Friday’s semifinals open with second-seeded Wisconsin battling the winner of Thursday’s Ohio State-Michigan State game. Friday’s second semifinal will feature top-seeded Minnesota facing the victor of Thursday’s Penn State-Michigan contest.

• Minnesota claimed its fourth consecutive Big Ten Championship and enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed. The Gophers led the conference with 43 points this season and a conference record of 14-5-1-0. Minnesota clinched the outright conference crown with a 4-0 win against Michigan State last Friday.

• The Big Ten Conference announced the hockey All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Monday as selected by the conference’s coaches and a media panel. Minnesota’s Tyler Sheehy was named Big Ten Player of the Year, while also earning Co-Scoring Champion honors with Ohio State’s Mason Jobst. Minnesota’s Eric Schierhorn was named the Goaltender of the Year for the second consecutive season, while teammate Jake Bischoff was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, which is awarded to a defenseman or forward. Wisconsin’s Trent Frederic collected Freshman of the Year laurels, while Badger head coach Tony Granato was selected as the Coach of the Year. The complete All-Big Ten teams can be found on page three.

• Over the last three years, Ohio State is the only school to have won at least one game in the Big Ten Tournament each season. The Buckeyes have won four Big Ten Tournament games over the last three seasons, tied with Michigan for the most of any school.

• With four points last weekend against Wisconsin, Ohio State sophomore forward Mason Jobst earned a share of the conference scoring title. Both Jobst and Minnesota sophomore forward Tyler Sheehy registered 34 points in conference play for an average of 1.70 points per game. Sheehy led the conference with 14 goals, while Jobst paced all Big Ten players with 21 assists.

• Three Big Ten teams have reached 20 overall wins for the season, marking the second consecutive year that three conference squads have amassed that many victories. Ohio State swept Wisconsin last weekend to reach the 20-win plateau, joining Minnesota and Penn State.

• Four of the top eight offenses in the country reside in the Big Ten, including three of the top five. Penn State is second in the nation with 4.03 goals per game, followed by Ohio State in third at 4.00 goals per contest. Minnesota is fifth with 3.78 goals per outing, while Wisconsin is eighth with 3.50 goals per game.