Big Ten Announces Hockey Postseason Honors

March 16, 2015


2014-15 Hockey All-Big TenGet Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference announced the hockey All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Monday as selected by the conference's coaches and a media panel. Michigan State's Jake Hildebrand was named Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the Year. For the second consecutive season, Minnesota's Mike Reilly was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, which is awarded to a defenseman or forward, while Penn State head coach Guy Gadowsky was selected as the Coach of the Year. Michigan's Dylan Larkin collected Freshman of the Year laurels, while teammate Zach Hyman was named the Big Ten Scoring Champion after leading all players in points during conference play.

Hildebrand led the conference in every goaltending category en route to Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the Year honors. The sophomore allowed just 39 goals while starting all 20 conference games, registering a .940 save percentage and five shutouts. A unanimous selection as Goaltender of the Year, Hildebrand recorded a 1.94 goals-against average and 11 conference victories to guide the Spartans to a first-round bye at the Big Ten Tournament.

Reilly was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season after leading the conference in scoring from the blue line, tallying 27 points on three goals and 24 assists in conference play. He also paced all Big Ten players with 13 power-play points in conference games, leading a power-play unit that converted on 31.6 percent of its opportunities.

Gadowsky won Coach of the Year honors after leading Penn State to an 18-14-4 overall record and 10-9-1-0 conference mark en route to the program's first winning record since its debut in 2012-13. The Nittany Lions exceeded their 2013-14 Big Ten win total by seven victories, the biggest increase of any conference program.

Larkin helped guide a Michigan offense that led the Big Ten in scoring in conference play en route to Freshman of the Year accolades. The unanimous selection ranked in the top 10 of numerous conference categories, including second with 32 points, tied for second with 21 assists, tied for fourth with 11 goals and third with 10 power-play points. His 32 points were 16 more than any other freshman in conference contests.

Hyman was tabbed the Big Ten Scoring Champion after pacing all players with 33 points in conference play. Hyman tallied 12 goals and 21 assists in 20 Big Ten contests. The award was added prior to the 2014-15 season.

Hyman, Larkin, Hildebrand and Reilly were joined on the All-Big Ten first team by Michigan's Zach Werenski and Penn State's Casey Bailey. Hyman, Hildebrand and Reilly were each unanimous first-team selections. The second team consisted of Michigan's Andrew Copp and Michael Downing, Michigan State's Travis Walsh and Minnesota's Travis Boyd, Kyle Rau and Adam Wilcox.

Larkin was one of two unanimous selections for the all-freshman team along with Werenski. The two Wolverines were joined by Michigan State's Josh Jacobs, Ohio State's Matthew Weis and Penn State's Scott Conway.

The Big Ten also recognized six Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This season's honorees are Michigan's Hyman, Michigan State's Michael Ferrantino, Minnesota's Rau, Ohio State's Tanner Fritz, Penn State's Max Gardiner and Wisconsin's Joel Rumpel.

The complete All-Big Ten teams, as well as a list of other honorees, can be found in the PDF above.