Big Ten Announces Hockey Postseason Honors

All-Big Ten & Award Winners Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference announced the hockey All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Monday as selected by the conference’s coaches and a media panel. Minnesota’s Adam Wilcox was named Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the Year. Fellow Gopher Mike Reilly earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, awarded to a defenseman or forward, while Minnesota head coach Don Lucia was tabbed Coach of the Year. Michigan’s JT Compher collected Freshman of the Year laurels.

Wilcox led the conference in every goaltending category en route to Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the Year honors. The sophomore allowed just 30 goals in 18 conference games, for a goals-against average of 1.64. No other Big Ten goaltender posted a goals against average of less than 2.00. Wilcox recorded 479 saves and a .941 save percentage en route to a 13-2-3 conference record.     

Reilly anchored a Minnesota defense that ranked first in the Big Ten, limiting opponents to 1.85 goals per game. The sophomore led the conference in scoring from the blue line, tallying 15 points on three goals and 12 assists in conference play. He tied for third among all players in the Big Ten in assists and tied for 12th overall in points. Reilly also recorded nine power-play points, which was tied for fourth in the conference.   

Lucia won Coach of the Year honors after leading Minnesota to a 25-5-6 overall record and 14-3-3-0 conference mark en route to the inaugural Big Ten Championship. The Gophers earned the No. 1 seed and a first-round bye in the Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament.

Compher paced a Michigan offense that led the Big Ten in scoring in conference play en route to Freshman of the Year accolades. The newcomer ranked in the top 10 of numerous conference categories, including tied for third in assists (12), fourth in points (20), tied for fourth in goals (eight) and tied for 10th in power-play points (five). His 20 points were seven more than any other freshman in conference contests.  

Reilly and Wilcox were joined on the All-Big Ten first team by Ohio State’s Ryan Dzingel and Wisconsin’s Jake McCabe, Michael Mersch and Mark Zengerle. Compher was a second-team selection, along with fellow Wolverine Mac Bennett, Minnesota’s Kyle Rau and Wisconsin’s Nic Kerdiles, Joel Rumpel and Frankie Simonelli.  

The Big Ten also recognized six Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This season's honorees are Michigan’s Luke Moffatt, Michigan State’s Greg Wolfe, Minnesota’s Nate Condon, Ohio State’s Tanner Fritz, Penn State’s David Glen and Wisconsin’s Simonelli.

The complete All-Big Ten teams, as well as a list of other honorees, can be found in the PDF linked above.