Big Ten Hockey Postseason Release

2017 Hockey Postseason Release Get Acrobat Reader

• Three Big Ten teams were selected to participate in the 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, with Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State earning bids.

• Minnesota is the overall No. 4 seed and will play in the Northeast Regional at SNHU Arena in Manchester, N.H. Up first for the Gophers is No. 4 seed Notre Dame, with the winner facing either No. 2 seed UMass Lowell or No. 3 seed Cornell. Minnesota is making its record 37th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and fifth in the last six years. The Gophers boast a 55-37 record in the tournament, including 21 appearances in the Frozen Four and five NCAA titles.

• Penn State, the 2017 Big Ten Tournament Champion, is the No. 3 seed in the Midwest Regional at U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati, Ohio. The Nittany Lions will take on No. 2 seed Union with the victor advancing to meet No. 1 seed Denver or No. 4 seed Michigan Tech. Penn State will be making its first appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

• Ohio State is the No. 4 seed in the West Regional at Scheels Arena in Fargo, N.D. The Buckeyes will take on No. 1 seed Minnesota Duluth with the winner advancing to face No. 2 seed Boston University or No. 3 seed North Dakota. Ohio State is making its seventh NCAA Tournament appearance and its first since 2009.

• Penn State claimed its first Big Ten Tournament title by defeating Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin, outlasting the second-seeded Badgers 2-1 in double overtime in the final at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit. The Nittany Lions are the fourth different team to win the Big Ten Tournament through its first four years and the first one seeded lower than second to lift the trophy.

• Freshman goalie Peyton Jones from Penn State was named the Most Outstanding Player in Detroit, shattering the previous Big Ten Tournament record with 118 saves. Jones made at least 30 saves in all three contests, including 37 saves in a double overtime semifinal win over Minnesota and 51 saves in the championship game against Wisconsin.

• Minnesota forward Tyler Sheehy, who led Minnesota to its fourth consecutive Big Ten Championship and was tabbed the Big Ten Player of the Year, was named a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award on March 15. A native of Burnsville, Minn., Sheehy is the 15th Gopher to be named a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award.

• Ohio State leads the nation with a power-play conversion rate of 32.5 percent, the highest mark by any team since Colorado College scored on 32.7 percent of its man-advantage opportunities in 1995-96 under current Minnesota head coach Don Lucia.

• Four of the top nine offenses in the country reside in the Big Ten, including three of the top five. Ohio State is second in the nation with 3.97 goals per game, just ahead of Penn State in third. Minnesota is fifth with 3.76 goals per outing, while Wisconsin is ninth with 3.39 goals per game.

• Four Big Ten teams have reached 20 overall wins for the season, marking the first time in the conference’s brief history that four squads have amassed that many victories. Wisconsin became the most recent addition to that group, joining Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State.