Two Big Ten Teams Selected For NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Championship

March 23, 2014


Two Big Ten teams were selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, with Minnesota and Wisconsin each earning No. 1 seeds.

Minnesota, the inaugural Big Ten Champion, is the overall No. 1 seed and will play in the West Regional March 29-30 at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn. Up first for the Gophers is No. 4 seed Robert Morris, with the winner facing either No. 2 seed Notre Dame or No. 3 seed St. Cloud State. Minnesota is making its 35th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and third consecutive trip. The Gophers boast a 52-35 record in the tournament, including 20 appearances in the Frozen Four and five NCAA titles.

Wisconsin, the inaugural Big Ten Tournament Champion, is the No. 1 seed in the Midwest Regional, scheduled for March 28-29 at U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati, Ohio. The Badgers will take on No. 4 seed North Dakota with the victor advancing to meet No. 2 seed Ferris State or No. 3 seed Colgate. Wisconsin will be playing in the NCAA Tournament for the 25th time and making its second straight appearance. The Badgers are 37-21-2 in their previous trips and have made 11 Frozen Four appearances, winning six national championships.