Five Big Ten Standouts Earn National Honors
April 7, 2018

Five Big Ten standouts claimed honors on Friday, highlighted by Notre Dame’s Cale Morris earning the 2018 Mike Richter Award. The award honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey.

Morris was also one of three Big Ten students to be named a CCM/AHCA Hockey All-American for the 2017-18 season on Friday. The sophomore goalie was placed on the on the west first team, while Michigan forward Cooper Marody and Ohio State forward Tanner Laczynski earned spots on the second team.

Earlier in the week, Notre Dame forward Jake Evans was named the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award winner for NCAA Division I men’s hockey. The award, chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I men’s hockey coaches, national hockey media and fans, is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I men’s hockey. In addition, Michigan defenseman Sam Piazza was named a first-team Senior CLASS All-American.