Hockey Season in Review

A trio of Big Ten standouts were named CCM/AHCA All-Americans for the 2017-18 season at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn. Notre Dame goalie Cale Morris was placed on the on the west first team, while Michigan forward Cooper Marody and Ohio State forward Tanner Laczynski earned spots on the second team. RELEASE

Notre Dame’s Cale Morris received the Mike Richter Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top goaltender. Morris, who was a Hobey Baker Top 10 Finalist, adds to a list of accolades which includes Big Ten Player of the Year, Big Ten Goaltender of the Year and Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player. RELEASE

Notre Dame forward Jake Evans was named the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award winner for NCAA Division I men’s hockey. The award, chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I men’s hockey coaches, national hockey media and fans, is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I men’s hockey. In addition, Michigan defenseman Sam Piazza was named a first-team Senior CLASS All-American. RELEASE

Michigan, Notre Dame and Ohio State all represented the Big Ten at the 2018 Frozen Four at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn. Michigan advanced to the Frozen Four for the first time since 2011 and the 25th time in program history, Ohio State reached the Frozen Four for the second time in program history and first time since 1998 and Notre Dame reached its second consecutive Frozen Four and its fourth overall. RELEASE

After leading the Notre Dame hockey team to Big Ten regular season and tournament titles and the NCAA East Regional Championship to earn a second consecutive trip to the Frozen Four, Fighting Irish head coach Jeff Jackson has been named the 2018 Spencer Penrose Award winner. Presented annually by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA), the Spencer Penrose Award recognizes the NCAA Division I Coach of the Year. It is Jackson's second career honor, previously winning the national coach of the year award in 2007. RELEASE 

Notre Dame claimed the outright Big Ten Championship with 53 points and a conference record of 17-6-1-1. The Fighting Irish clinched the outright conference crown with a 2-1 win against Ohio State on Feb. 9. RELEASE

Notre Dame claimed its first Big Ten Tournament title by defeating No. 4 Penn State and Ohio State, outlasting the second-seeded Buckeyes 3-2 in overtime in the final at Compton Family Arena in South Bend, Ind. The Fighting Irish are the fifth different team to win the Big Ten Tournament through its first five years. Notre Dame goalie Cale Morris made 41 saves to earn Most Outstanding Player accolades.

Four Big Ten teams were selected to participate in the 2018 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, with Michigan, Notre Dame, Ohio State and Penn State earning bids. RELEASE

Minnesota defeated Michigan State on Jan. 20 in the nightcap of the third-annual "Super Saturday - College Hoops & Hockey" doubleheader at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The Gophers completed the series sweep with a 2-1 win over the Spartans at the World's Most Famous Arena. RELEASE

Big Ten hockey featured an extensive slate of television coverage this season, with more than 60 total games. The lineup was highlighted by a package of at least 20 national broadcasts carried on BTN, with another two broadcasts on ESPN2 or ESPNU, along with an additional 34 games carried on FOX Sports Regional Networks and NBCSN. Every game televised by BTN and FOX Sports Regional Networks were also available to be streamed nation-wide via the web, smartphones, tablets and connected devices on BTN2Go, BTN’s digital extension. All games televised on an ESPN network were also available to stream on the ESPN App.

Every Big Ten program ranked among the top 12 on the national attendance list for the 2017-18 season. Wisconsin led the way in second with 10,436 fans per game, followed by Minnesota (third, 8,726), Penn State (fifth, 5,906), Michigan (eighth, 5,399), Ohio State (ninth, 5,337), Michigan State (10th, 5,157) and Notre Dame (12th, 4,818). Combined, Big Ten programs welcomed 874,100 patrons to their games this season and led all conferences with an average attendance of 6,523 fans per game.

Ohio State (127-142) and Notre Dame (110-123) finished the season tied for No. 1 in the nation on the penalty kill, each thwarted opponents' chances 89.4 percent of the time.

The 2017-18 All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners were announced in advance of the Big Ten Tournament Championship game. Notre Dame’s Cale Morris was named Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the Year, while Ohio State’s Steve Rohlik was selected as the Coach of the Year. Penn State’s Trevor Hamilton was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, which is awarded to a defenseman or forward. Michigan State’s Mitchell Lewandowski collected Freshman of the Year laurels, while Michigan’s Cooper Marody claimed the scoring title with 27 points in 24 conference games. RELEASE