Hockey Season in Review

April 25, 2017


  • A trio of Big Ten standouts were named CCM/AHCA All-Americans for the 2016-17 season at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four in Chicago. Minnesota's Tyler Sheehy received first-team All-America plaudits, while Ohio State's Mason Jobst and Wisconsin's Luke Kunin were named second-team All-Americans. RELEASE

  • Tyler Sheehy was named a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award, which is given annually to the top collegiate player. The 2017 Big Ten Player of the Year and a first team All-Big Ten selection, Sheehy was second in the Big Ten and ranked eighth nationally with 53 points (20 goals, 33 assists) -- all three statistics are career highs for the sophomore. The forward was named the league's co-scoring champion with 34 points in conference competition. A native of Burnsville, Minn., Sheehy became the 15th Gopher to be named a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award. RELEASE

  • The Hockey Commissioners Association named Wisconsin men's hockey senior Aidan Cavallini the Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award winner. The award "recognizes a fearless leader and beloved fan favorite who always places his team first. Displaying exemplary sportsmanship, he's supremely competitive, intelligent and extraordinarily conditioned with an unmatched work ethic. The contributions of this individual, on and off the ice, cannot be measured by statistics alone." RELEASE



  • Minnesota claimed its fourth consecutive Big Ten Championship with 43 points and a conference record of 14-5-1-0. Minnesota clinched the outright conference crown with a 4-0 win against Michigan State on March 10. RELEASE

  • Penn State claimed its first Big Ten Tournament title by defeating Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin, outlasting the second-seeded Badgers 2-1 in double overtime in the final at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit. The Nittany Lions are the fourth different team to win the Big Ten Tournament through its first four years and the first one seeded lower than second to lift the trophy.

  • Freshman goalie Peyton Jones from Penn State was named the Most Outstanding Player in Detroit, shattering the previous Big Ten Tournament record with 118 saves. Jones made at least 30 saves in all three contests, including 37 saves in a double-overtime semifinal win over Minnesota and 51 saves in the championship game against Wisconsin.

  • Three Big Ten teams were selected to participate in the 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, with Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State earning bids. The Nittany Lions claimed their first NCAA Tournament win in program history, defeating Union 10-3 in the opening round of the tournament.

  • Four Big Ten teams reached 20 overall wins for the season, marking the first time in the conference's brief history that four squads have amassed that many victories. The list included Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.

  • Wisconsin defeated Ohio State in overtime on Jan. 28 in the nightcap of the second-annual "Super Saturday - College Hoops & Hockey" doubleheader at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The Badgers topped the Buckeyes 3-2 in front of 5,002 fans. RELEASE

  • The Big Ten announced matchups for future doubleheaders at Madison Square Garden. On Saturday, Jan. 20, 2018, Minnesota will entertain the Buckeyes on the court, while Michigan State will host the Gophers on the ice. In 2019, Maryland will face Illinois in men's basketball. The 2019 hockey matchup, times for 2018 and date and times for 2019 will be announced at a later date.

  • Big Ten hockey featured an extensive slate of television coverage this season, including a package of 32 games airing nationally on BTN, ESPNU and ESPNEWS. BTN carried 26 games, including the "Super Saturday - College Hoops & Hockey" doubleheader between Ohio State and Wisconsin at Madison Square Garden in New York City. In addition to the 26 games airing live on BTN, all locally televised games were also available to a national audience live on BTN2Go. The network also provided live coverage of all five games from the 2017 Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament in March. ESPN televised an additional six contests, all of which were also available on WatchESPN.

  • Every Big Ten program ranked among the top 13 on the national attendance list for the 2016-17 season. Wisconsin led the way in second with 10,158 fans per game, followed by Minnesota (third, 9,595), Penn State (fifth, 6,026), Michigan (ninth, 5,596), Ohio State (11th, 5,335) and Michigan State (13th, 4,536). Combined, Big Ten programs welcomed 715,526 patrons to their games this season and led all conferences with an average attendance of 6,880 fans per game.

  • Penn State led the nation in scoring this season, averaging 4.10 goals per game. This marked the third consecutive year a Big Ten team has topped all Division I hockey programs in goals per contest. The Nittany Lions were joined in the top 10 by Ohio State in third with 3.92 goals per contest, Minnesota in fifth with 3.71 and Wisconsin in ninth with 3.39 goals per game.

  • Ohio State led the nation in power-play percentage, converting on 31.6 percent of their chances. Minnesota (25.5) and Wisconsin (21.5) also appeared in the top 10, coming in at fifth and eighth, respectively.

  • The 2016-17 All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners were announced in advance of the Big Ten Tournament. Minnesota's Tyler Sheehy was named Big Ten Player of the Year, while also earning Co-Scoring Champion honors with Ohio State's Mason Jobst. Minnesota's Eric Schierhorn was named the Goaltender of the Year for the second consecutive season, while teammate Jake Bischoff was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, which is awarded to a defenseman or forward. Wisconsin's Trent Frederic collected Freshman of the Year laurels, while Badger head coach Tony Granato was selected as the Coach of the Year. RELEASE