Big Ten Announces Conference Schedule for 2017-18 Hockey Season

May 4, 2017

2017-18 Big Ten Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten office announced the dates and opponents for the 2017-18 hockey season on Thursday. With the addition of the University of Notre Dame as a sport affiliate member for men’s ice hockey, schedules for each of the seven conference programs will move to a 24-game format. The schedule concludes with the 2018 Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament, to be held the first three weekends of March.

Five conference teams – Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin -- will open Big Ten play in October. In the opening weekend, Wisconsin will play host to Ohio State (Oct. 6-7), while reigning Big Ten Tournament Champion Penn State makes its debut by visiting four-time defending Big Ten Champion Minnesota the following weekend (Oct. 13-14). The Nittany Lions return home for a Friday-Saturday series against Michigan on Oct. 27-28.

Notre Dame will make its Big Ten debut with a series at Ohio State Nov. 3-4, the same weekend that Michigan State will open its 2017-18 Big Ten schedule by visiting Minnesota.

Following the annual break for exams, the Big Ten schedule resumes with a trio of weekend series on Jan. 5-6, which will mark the first of eight consecutive weekends of conference play from January through the end of February. The stretch is highlighted by a men's basketball and hockey doubleheader featuring Minnesota, Michigan State and Ohio State at Madison Square Garden in New York City on Jan. 20. Minnesota will face Ohio State in men’s basketball, while Michigan State will host the Gophers in hockey.

The final regular-season games will take place Feb. 23-24, with Michigan State traveling to Notre Dame, Minnesota visiting Penn State and Wisconsin playing at Ohio State.

The 2018 Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament will feature a new three-weekend format with all games taking place on the campus of the higher-seeded teams. The tournament will open March 2-4 with three best-of-three quarterfinal series, as the second-, third- and fourth-seeded teams will each host a series. The top-seeded team will have a bye to the single-elimination semifinals, which are scheduled for Saturday, March 10. The highest-seeded team remaining after the semifinals will host a championship game scheduled for Saturday, March 17.

The 2017-18 Big Ten hockey schedule can be found in the PDF above. Times and television designations will be announced at a later date.