Big Ten Announces Conference Schedule for Inaugural Season of Men's Ice Hockey

2013-14 Big Ten Hockey Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

May 8, 2013

The Big Ten office announced the dates and opponents for the inaugural season of Big Ten men's ice hockey today, featuring 20-game schedules for each of the six Big Ten hockey schools - Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin. The first season of Big Ten hockey concludes with the inaugural Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament, to be held March 20-22, 2014, at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn.
The 2013-14 Big Ten hockey schedule will feature 60 games beginning in late November, with the majority of contests being played on Friday and Saturday. The schedule will also feature a limited number of games on Thursday, Sunday and Monday. The full conference schedule is attached as a PDF.

The Big Ten hockey schedule begins with a doubleheader on Friday, Nov. 29, with Michigan hosting Ohio State at Yost Ice Arena and Minnesota welcoming Wisconsin to Mariucci Arena. The Gophers and Badgers will wrap up their two-game series in Minneapolis on Saturday, Nov. 30, while the Wolverines and Buckeyes will conclude their two-game series at Value City Arena on Monday, Dec. 2.

Michigan State and Penn State will take part in their first Big Ten competition on Friday, Dec. 6, with the Spartans hosting Minnesota at Munn Ice Arena and the Nittany Lions playing at Wisconsin's Kohl Center. Both two-game series will conclude on Saturday, Dec. 7.

The Big Ten schedule resumes on Friday, Jan. 10, with Michigan at Wisconsin and Michigan State at Ohio State. The Nittany Lions will play their first Big Ten home games at Pegula Ice Arena when they host Minnesota for a two-game series on Sunday, Jan. 12, and Monday, Jan. 13.

The Big Ten season continues with games for 10 straight weekends from January through March. The final regular-season games will take place on Friday, March 14, and Saturday, March 15, with Minnesota at Michigan, Ohio State at Penn State and Wisconsin at Michigan State.
The inaugural Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament will be held March 20-22, 2014, at Xcel Energy Center. The tournament will feature all six teams in a single-elimination format. All-session ticket packages for the Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament are currently being sold the Xcel Energy Center Box Office, Ticketmaster Ticket Centers, charge by phone at 800-745-3000 or online at For more information on the tournament, go to