Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Nov. 1, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Michigan’s Sam Piazza, Michigan State’s Carson Gatt, Notre Dame’s Jake Evans and Wisconsin’s Tim Davison were selected as hockey candidates for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior students in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition.

The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. To be eligible for the award, a student must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in the four areas of excellence.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four in April.