2014 Big Ten Men's Indoor Track & Field Championships

Penn State's Robby Creese

Feb. 26, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. -

Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

Attached, please find the 2014 Big Ten Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Championships release. The event will be hosted by the SPIRE Institute from Feb. 28-March 1 in Geneva, Ohio.


The SPIRE Institute will play host to the 2014 Big Ten Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Championships, scheduled to begin Friday and run through Saturday. Last year, Wisconsin won its 24th conference title and first since 2008 after totaling 90 points to earn the win. Illinois was second with 87.5 points and Penn State was third with 87. Nebraska (86.67 points) and Minnesota (86) rounded out the top five.

In the sprints and middle distances, five conference competitors will look to defend their Big Ten titles from a season ago. Illinois' Brandon Stryganek and Stephon Pamilton aim to repeat as Big Ten Champions in the 60-and 400-meter dashes, respectively, while Ohio State's Timothy Faust will try to become a two-time conference champion in the 200-meter dash. Penn State will have two runners looking to defend their 2013 titles in Brannon Kidder (800-meter run) and Robby Creese (mile run). Heading into the championships, Nebraska's Levi Gibson paces the conference in the 600-meter dash, while Ohio State's Demoye Bogle leads the Big Ten in the 60-meter hurdles. Wisconsin's Reed Connor holds the conference's top times in both the 3,000- and 5,000-meter runs. His mark in the 5,000-meter event is also first in the nation this season.

In the field events, three conference champions return to defend their titles. Nebraska's Patrick Raedler (long jump) and Wisconsin's Danny Block (shot put) and Japheth Cato (heptathlon) won titles at last year's championships. This season, Cato holds the Big Ten's top mark in the pole vault, while Penn State's Jon Hendershot and Steve Waithe rank first in the Big Ten in the high jump and triple jump, respectively. The competition in the weight throw will be tight, as Big Ten student-athletes make up the top four marks in the nation this season. Wisconsin's Michael Lihrman has posted the best weight throw in the country this season, followed by Purdue's Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, Minnesota's Jon Lehman and Michigan State's Antonio James.    

BTN will air tape-delay coverage of the Big Ten Men's & Women's Indoor Track & Field Championships at 10:30 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 8.