Minnesota Repeats as Big Ten Indoor Champions

Feb. 28, 2010

A sweep of the top three places in the heptathlon and five other individual champions propelled Minnesota to its second straight Big Ten men's indoor track and field championship on Sunday at the University Fieldhouse.

The Gophers totaled 160.50 team points, the second most in Big Ten Men's Indoor Championship history, to easily outdistance the rest of the field. Ohio State was second with 112.50 points and Wisconsin was third with 81.00 points. The point total also bettered the margin of last year's title, when Minnesota outscored second-place Michigan by 42 points. This marks the first back-to-back indoor titles for Minnesota, and the third overall in program history.

The entire 2010 Big Ten Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships will be aired by the Big Ten Network on Mar. 9 at 9:00 p.m.

Up next, the Big Ten contingent will compete at the 2010 NCAA Championships, scheduled for March 12-13. The national meet will be hosted by the University of Arkansas.

Full Recap

Complete Results

Final Team Scores
1) Minnesota, 160.50
2) Ohio State, 112.50
3) Wisconsin, 81
4) Purdue, 67
5) Iowa, 56
6) Indiana, 51
6) Penn State, 51
8) Michigan, 42
9) Michigan State, 41
10) Illinois, 40

First Team
Andrew Riley, Illinois
Derek Drouin, Indiana
Robert Peddlar, Michigan
Kyron Foster, Michigan State
Ben Blankenship, Minnesota
Harun Abda, Minnesota
R.J. McGinnis, Minnesota
Ben Peterson, Minnesota
Aaron Studt, Minnesota
Thomas Murdaugh, Ohio State
Stephen Robinson, Ohio State
Jeff See, Ohio State
Elon Simms, Ohio State
Brandon Woodard, Ohio State
Ryan Foster, Penn State
Shane Crawford, Purdue
Jack Bolas, Wisconsin
Grant Bughman, Wisconsin
Ryan Gasper, Wisconsin
Landon Peacock, Wisconsin
Luke Rucks, Wisconsin

Second Team
Kevin Dibbern, Iowa
Erik Sowinski, Iowa
Ray Varner, Iowa
Steven Willey, Iowa
Andrew Bayer, Indiana
Brendon Blacklaws, Michigan
Dallas Bowden, Michigan
Sean McNamara, Michigan
Nicholas Neuman, Michigan
Sean Pruitt, Michigan
Matt Fisher, Minnesota
Jack Szmanda, Minnesota
Logan Stroman, Minnesota
Adam Green, Ohio State
Hanif Johnson, Penn State
Joe Kovacs, Penn State
Chris Kirtz, Purdue
Eric Sparks, Purdue
Maverick Darling, Wisconsin
Nate Larkin, Wisconsin