Big Ten Announces Men's Indoor Track & Field Individual Honors

Feb. 28, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2012 All-Big Ten men’s indoor track and field teams and individual award winners. Highlighting the list, Minnesota junior Harun Abda was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year, and Wisconsin sophomore Japheth Cato earned the nod as Field Athlete of the Year. Abda and Indiana’s Andrew Bayer shared Track Athlete of the Championships laurels, while Cato was named Field Athlete of the Championships. Penn State’s Robby Creese was tabbed Freshman of the Year by the conference coaches, while Indiana head coach Ron Helmer was named Coach of the Year by his peers.

The Big Ten Conference office recognizes student-athletes from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for men’s indoor track and field are, Illinois’ Kyle Engnell, Indiana’s Ryan Hindes,  Iowa’s Keaton Rickles, Michigan’s Matt Campbell, Michigan State’s Aaron Ide, Minnesota’s Quentin Mege, Nebraska’s Chris Phipps, Ohio State’s Max Mays, Penn State’s Nabil Mubarak, Purdue’s Josh Lee and Wisconsin’s Japheth Cato. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Track Athlete of the Year
Harun Abda, Minnesota

Field Athlete of the Year
Japheth Cato, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year
Robby Creese, Penn State

Co-Track Athlete of the Championships
Andrew Bayer, Indiana
Harun Abda, Minnesota

Field Athlete of the Championships
Japheth Cato, Wisconsin



Coach of the Year
Ron Helmer, Indiana


First Team

Andrew Riley, Illinois

Andrew Bayer, Indiana

Kind Butler, Indiana

Darius King, Indiana

Troy Davis, Iowa

Erik Sowinski, Iowa

Harun Abda, Minnesota

Micah Hegerle, Minnesota

Hassan Mead, Minnesota

Chris Phipps, Nebraska

Luke Pinkelman, Nebraska

Antonio Blanks, Ohio State

Marvel Brooks, Ohio State

Thomas Murdaugh, Ohio State

Heath Nickles, Ohio State

Korbin Smith, Ohio State

Robby Creese, Penn State

Wade Endress, Penn State

Casimir Loxsom, Penn State

Aaron Nadolsky, Penn State

Japheth Cato, Wisconsin


Second Team

Brandon Stryganek, Illinois

Cody Wisslead, Illinois

Olumide Olamigoke, Indiana

Craig Forys, Michigan

David Puchuta, Minnesota

Jack Szmanda, Minnesota

Bjorn Barrefors, Nebraska

Tommy Brinn, Nebraska

Ricco Hall, Nebraska

Patrick Raedler, Nebraska

Cory Leslie, Ohio State

Max Mays, Ohio State

Brady Gehret, Penn State

Brandon Bennett-Green, Penn State

Geoff Davis, Purdue

Danny Block, Wisconsin

Alexander Hatz, Wisconsin

Tim Hucke, Wisconsin

Zach Mellon, Wisconsin

Aaron Thompson, Wisconsin