2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - Indiana's Andy Bayer

Andy Bayer is Indiana's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 15, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN's season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Andy Bayer - Indiana - Track and Field
Bayer had one of the best years in Indiana history as he earned All-America honors, won an NCAA title, claimed three Big Ten individual titles and led the Hoosiers to a Big Ten team title. At the Big Ten Indoor Championships, he was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships after he won the mile and 3,000-meter titles, leading the Hoosiers to their first Big Ten crown since 1992. In the outdoor season, Bayer took the 1,500-meter Big Ten title and dove across the line at the NCAA Championships to win the event over twoÂ?]time NCAA Champion Miles Batty of BYU. Click HERE for more information on Andy.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler



Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing

John Shurna, Northwestern basketball

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern lacrosse

Maya Hayes, Penn State soccer

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling