Four Big Ten Teams Selected for NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Tournament

May 7, 2017

2017 NCAA Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Ohio State and Penn State were selected to the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Tournament, as announced on the NCAA Selection Show Sunday night. The four Big Ten teams advancing to the national tournament represent a conference record, and each will host a first-round game.

Johns Hopkins earned the No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament after finishing the regular season with an 8-6 record, including a 3-2 mark in Big Ten play. The Blue Jays will host Duke next Saturday at 2:30 p.m. ET. Johns Hopkins is making its record 45th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and fourth straight.

Maryland earned the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament for the second straight season after posting a 12-3 record, including a 4-1 Big Ten slate. The Terrapins earned the outright Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament title. Maryland will host the Bryant/Monmouth winner next Sunday at 2:30 p.m. The Terrapins will be making their 40th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 15th straight trip.

Ohio State, the No. 3 overall seed, earned its sixth trip to the NCAA Tournament, and third in the past five years. The Buckeyes enter the postseason with a 13-4 overall record (3-2 Big Ten) after advancing to the Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Tournament championship game. Ohio State will host Loyola (Md.) at Ohio Stadium on Sunday at 5 p.m.

Seventh-seeded Penn State secured its fourth appearance to the NCAA Tournament, and first trip since 2013. The Nittany Lions posted a 12-3 record on the season, including a 3-2 mark in conference play. Penn State will host Towson on Saturday at noon in the opening round.

All first-round games will be televised on ESPNU. Quarterfinal games will be played on May 20 at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, N.Y., televised on ESPNU and on May 21 at Delaware Stadium in Newark, Del., airing on ESPN2. The semifinal and championship games will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass., May 27 and 29 and hosted by Harvard. The semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at noon ET, May 27. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. on May 29.