MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

July 20, 2016

Six Big Ten Conference students – three men and three women – highlight this year’s preseason watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy, it was announced Wednesday by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

On the men’s side, the Big Ten is represented on the Hermann Trophy watch list by a pair of Indiana standouts in junior defender Grant Lillard and senior forward Tanner Thompson, along with Rutgers junior forward Jason Wright. Both Thompson and Wright were NSCAA All-America selections last season.

Wisconsin senior midfielder Rose Lavelle, Minnesota senior forward Simone Kolander and Penn State junior Megan Schafer are the Big Ten students on the women’s version of this year’s Hermann Trophy watch list. Lavelle and Kolander were NSCAA All-Americans last year, with Lavelle also being chosen a semifinalist for the 2015 Hermann Trophy that ultimately was earned by Penn State’s Raquel Rodriguez.

A total of 68 players – 30 men and 38 women – appear on this year’s Hermann Trophy watch list that was chosen by the NSCAA Men’s and Women’s Division I All-America Committees, based on analysis of returning All-America and all-region players, as well as prominent newcomers.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer, presented annually to one male and one female student. The 30 semifinalists (15 per gender) will be determined near the end of the regular season, with six finalists (three per gender) chosen in mid-December. This year’s Hermann Trophy recipients will be announced Jan. 6, 2017, during the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

This year’s Big Ten Hermann Trophy watch list members are listed below:

Grant Lillard, Jr., D, Indiana
*Tanner Thompson, Sr., F, Indiana
*Jason Wright, Jr., F, Rutgers



*#Rose Lavelle, Sr., M, Wisconsin
*Simone Kolander, Sr., F, Minnesota
Megan Schafer, Jr., F, Penn State

* - 2015 NSCAA All-American
# - 2015 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist