MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List Announced

Aug. 6, 2014

The 2014 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch Lists were announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Wednesday. Two Big Ten men’s soccer players were recognized. The prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to one male and one female Division I soccer player.

Maryland senior midfielder Dan Metzger and Northwestern senior goalkeeper Tyler Miller were the Big Ten representatives on this year’s watch list. In 2013, Metzger was named to the ACC Championship All-Tournament Team after Maryland’s second straight title, and earned First Team All-ACC honors. Miller, who earned his second straight nod on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, tied for second in the Big Ten with eight shutouts in 2013.

The lists are compiled by NSCAA Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, and other prominent players. At the end of the regular season, coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their selections, narrowing the list to 15. In November, fans can also vote for their favorite semifinalists.

The winners of the trophy, three men and three women, will be announced Friday, Jan. 9, 2015.