MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 8, 2017

Eight Big Ten students — four men and four women — have been named to the preseason watch list for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy, as announced Tuesday by the award’s presenting organizations, the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) and United Soccer Coaches (formerly the National Soccer Coaches Association of America). The MAC Hermann Trophy is given annually to the nation’s top men’s and women’s college soccer players.

The four Big Ten men’s standouts on the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list are Indiana’s Grant Lillard, Maryland’s Gordon Wild, Michigan State’s Ryan Sierakowski and Wisconsin’s Chris Mueller. On the MAC Hermann Trophy’s women’s watch list, the Big Ten is represented by Northwestern’s Lauren Clem, Penn State’s Frannie Crouse and Emily Ogle, and Rutgers’ Casey Murphy.

The MAC Hermann Trophy was first presented to men’s soccer students in 1967, with the award adding a women’s trophy in 1988. Since the MAC Hermann Trophy’s inception, students from current Big Ten schools have earned the award 13 times (11 men and two women), with Penn State’s Raquel Rodriguez the Big Ten’s most recent MAC Hermann Trophy recipient in 2015. Maryland’s Patrick Mullins was the last men’s MAC Hermann Trophy winner from a current conference school, becoming the fifth two-time recipient of the award in 2013.

This year’s MAC Hermann Trophy watch lists for both men’s and women’s soccer can be seen by CLICKING HERE.