Big Ten Men's Soccer Coaches Poll

Aug. 17, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its 2016 men’s soccer preseason coaches poll and preseason honors list on Wednesday, with Maryland claiming the top spot among the nine conference teams.


The Terrapins concluded the 2015 campaign with a 12-5-6 record (3-2-3 Big Ten), and claimed the Big Ten Tournament title for the second straight season. Maryland made its 33rd NCAA Tournament appearance and 21st in the past 22 seasons.


Indiana checked in at No. 2 in the preseason poll, followed by third place Ohio State, No. 4 Rutgers and Michigan in fifth place.


The 2016 preseason honors list features Rutgers’ Jason Wright, last season’s unanimous Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, and Indiana’s Tanner Thompson, the 2015 Big Ten Midfielder of the Year. The list includes five 2015 first-team All-Big Ten honorees, five second-team selections and six All-Freshman Team recipients.


All nine conference teams kick off the 2016 campaign on Friday, Aug. 26.


The complete preseason coaches poll and players to watch list can be found below.




  1. Maryland
  2. Indiana
  3. Ohio State
  4. Rutgers
  5. Michigan
  6. Michigan State
  7. Wisconsin
  8. Penn State
  9. Northwestern





Andrew Gutman, Indiana, So., Defender

Grant Lillard, Indiana, Jr., Defender

Tanner Thompson, Indiana, Sr., Midfielder

Alex Crognale, Maryland, Sr., Defender

Chris Odoi-Atsem, Maryland, Sr., Defender

Eryk Williamson, Maryland, So., Midfielder

Francis Atuahene, Michigan, So., Forward

Marcello Borges, Michigan, So., Midfielder

Evan Louro, Michigan, Jr., Goalkeeper

Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan State, Jr., Defender

Ken Krolicki, Michigan State, Jr., Midfielder

Ryan Sierakowski, Michigan State, So., Forward

Nathan Dearth, Northwestern, Sr., Defender

Jeff Hopson, Northwestern, Sr., Midfielder

Brandon Medina, Northwestern, Jr., Midfielder

Austin Bergstrom, Ohio State, Sr., Defender

Danny Jensen, Ohio State, Sr., Forward

Abdi Mohamed, Ohio State, So., Midfielder

Evan Finney, Penn State, Sr., Goalkeeper

Connor Maloney, Penn State, Sr., Midfielder

Robby Sagel, Penn State, Sr., Midfielder

David Greczek, Rutgers, Sr., Goalkeeper

Miles Hackett, Rutgers, Jr., Midfielder

Jason Wright, Rutgers, Jr., Forward

Sam Brotherton, Wisconsin, So., Defender

Alex Masbruch, Wisconsin, Jr., Midfielder

Chris Mueller, Wisconsin, Jr., Midfielder/Forward