Indiana Selected to Win 2005 Big Ten Men's Soccer Title

Aug. 18, 2005

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - For the third consecutive year, Indiana has been selected to win the 2005 Big Ten men's soccer regular season title as voted on by the league coaches and released today by the conference office.

The Hoosiers capped off last season by defeating UC Santa Barbara, 3-2 in penalty kicks, in the NCAA College Cup championship match to capture their second consecutive and seventh national title.  Indiana compiled a 5-1 conference and 19-4-1 overall record in 2004. The Hoosiers are coming off their 27th all-time and 16th-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament. Penn State finished second in the voting after posting a 10-4-8 overall mark last year.  The Nittany Lions finished second in the voting after posting a 3-3 mark in conference action, and advancing to the quarterfinals in last year's NCAA Tournament.

Northwestern finished third in the poll and looks to improve on its 3-2-1 conference mark from a year ago.  The Wildcats are also aiming to return to the NCAA Tournament after qualifying last year for the first time. Northwestern was the only first time qualifier to advance to the second round.

Regular season play is scheduled to begin Thursday, September 1, with Michigan hosting Detroit.  Northwestern, Ohio State, and defending NCAA champion Indiana all debut at home on Friday, September 2 while Penn State opens on the road at the Ohio State Tournament. On Sunday, Michigan State kicks off its 2005 campaign at home while Wisconsin takes on Drake at the Big Toe Soccer Invitational in Richmond, Va. 

2005 Men's Soccer Preseason Poll Results

1. Indiana
2. Penn State
3. Northwestern
4. Michigan
5. Ohio State
6. Michigan State
7. Wisconsin