Maryland Selected as Preseason Favorite

Aug. 20, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its 2014 men's soccer preseason coaches' poll and players to watch list on Wednesday, with Maryland claiming the top spot among the nine teams heading into its first year in the conference.

The Terrapins reached the national championship game last season. Maryland concluded the 2013 campaign with a 17-4-5 record, and has advanced to the NCAA Tournament 19 times since 1994.

Michigan State checked in at No. 2 in the preseason poll, followed by Michigan at No. 3, defending Big Ten champion Penn State at No. 4 and Indiana, the 2013 Big Ten Tournament champions, at No. 5.

The 2014 players to watch list features Michigan's Tyler Arnone, last season's Midfielder of the Year and Penn State's Andrew Wolverton, the 2013 Goalkeeper of the Year. The list also includes four 2013 first-team All-Big Ten honorees, five second-team selections and one All-Freshman Team honoree. The complete preseason coaches' poll and players to watch list can be found below.

All nine conference teams kick off the 2014 men's soccer season on Friday, Aug. 29.


1. Maryland
2. Michigan State
3. Michigan
4. Penn State
5. Indiana
6. Northwestern
7. Wisconsin
8. Rutgers
9. Ohio State


Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Indiana, Jr., Forward/Midfield
Tanner Thompson, Indiana, So., Midfield
Jamie Vollmer, Indiana, Sr., Midfield
Dan Metzger, Maryland, Sr., Midfield
Zack Steffen, Maryland, So., Goalkeeper
Tsubasa Endoh, Maryland, Jr., Midfield
Tyler Arnone, Michigan, Sr., Midfield
Adam Grinwis, Michigan, Sr., Goalkeeper
Marcos Ugarte, Michigan, Sr., Midfield
Fatai Alashe, Michigan State, Sr., Midfield
Adam Montague, Michigan State, Sr., Forward
Jay Chapman, Michigan State, Jr., Midfield
Tyler Miller, Northwestern, Sr., Goalkeeper
Nikko Boxall, Northwestern, Sr., Defense
Joey Calistri, Northwestern, Jr., Forward
Alex Ivanov, Ohio State, Sr., Goalkeeper
Kyle Culbertson, Ohio State, Jr., Midfield
Danny Jensen, Ohio State, So., Forward
Andrew Wolverton, Penn State, Sr., Goalkeeper
Mikey Minutillo, Penn State, Sr., Forward
Owen Griffith, Penn State, Sr., Midfield
David Greczek, Rutgers, So., Goalkeeper
Ross Tetro, Rutgers, Jr., Defense
Nathan Bruccoleri, Rutgers, Sr., Midfield
Drew Conner, Wisconsin, Jr., Midfield
David Caban, Wisconsin, Sr., Defense/Midfield
Jacob Brindle, Wisconsin, Sr., Midfield/Forward