Four Big Ten Standouts Named To 2005 Men's Soccer MAC Hermann Trophy Watch LISt

Aug. 25, 2005

Park Ridge, Ill - Four Big Ten men's soccer student-athletes have been named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2005 season.  Indiana's Jacob Peterson, Brian Plotkin and Jed Zayner, as well as Northwestern's Gerardo Alvarez are considered among the top 25 players in the nation entering this upcoming season.

Two-time defending national champion Indiana has three players among the 25 included on the third annual watch list for the most prestigious individual honor in intercollegiate soccer. Peterson, a second team preseason All-American by College Soccer News was a first team All-Big Ten and third team All-Great Lakes Region selection in 2004. The junior led the Hoosiers with 24 points on 11 goals an two assists while starting all 24 games at forward during his sophomore campaign.

Plotkin has started 55 games during his tenure as a Hoosier, including 24 during last year's campaign. He was a 2004 first team All-Big Ten and second team All-Great Lakes Region honoree last season. The Hoosier scored 19 points on five goals and nine assists while helping Indiana defend its national title.

Zayner joins teammate Peterson on the list as well as a second team preseason All-American by the College Soccer News. The junior has started every game for the Hoosiers since 2003. He helped the Indiana defense to a goals-against average of 0.63 with 22 shutouts while claiming second team All-Big Ten accolades during the 2004 campaign. The center back was also named to the 2004 Soccer America's National Team.

Northwesthern's Alvarez is the first player from the Wildcat program to be nominated to the watch list. The junior started in all 23 games and was team captain in 2004. He led the Big Ten in points for the season with 33 while being named to the NSCAA All-Region first team and All-Big Ten second and All-Big Ten Tournament teams. As a forward, he recorded two game-winning goals last season while tying for third in NU's record books for all-time points with 58 over his career.

The watch list was compiled by a coaching panel for the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), which serves as the official selection body for the MAC's Hermann Trophy.  A list of 15 semifinalists will be announced in November, with three finalists selected in early December. The winner will be announced at a dinner at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., on January 6, 2005.

The 2005 Big Ten men's soccer season opens on Thursday, September 1 with Michigan taking on Detroit at home. Northwestern, Ohio State and Indiana all debut at home on Friday, while Penn State opens on the road.