Big Ten Men's Soccer Opens 2013 Season This Weekend

Aug 29, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill.- The 23rd season of Big Ten men's soccer is set to get underway this weekend, with all seven conference teams officially opening the 2013 slate. Defending national champion and preseason No. 1 Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, No. 19 Northwestern, Penn State and Ohio State will begin the season at home, while Wisconsin will open on the road.

Indiana, which won its eighth national title in 2012, will host Southern Methodist on Friday, and entertain UCLA Sunday afternoon in a match that will air live on BTN. Northwestern, which shared the Big Ten Championship with Penn State last season, will host UC Santa Barbara on Friday night.

Michigan will entertain Loyola-Chicago on Friday, while Ohio State will challenge UNC-Wilmington and Penn State will take on Radford. Wisconsin will open the season on Saturday night at Missouri-Kansas City. Defending Big Ten Tournament Champion Michigan State will begin its campaign on Sunday against visiting Western Michigan.

Below is the complete schedule for the Big Ten's opening weekend.


Friday, Aug. 30
Southern Methodist at No. 1 Indiana (adidas/IU Credit Union Classic), 7:30 p.m. ET
UC Santa Barbara at No. 19 Northwestern, 8 p.m. ET
Loyola-Chicago at Michigan, 4 p.m. ET
Radford at Penn State, 7 p.m. ET
UNC-Wilmington at Ohio State (Wolstein Classic), 7:30 p.m. ET

Saturday, Aug. 31
Wisconsin at Missouri-Kansas City, 8 p.m. ET

Sunday, Sept. 1
UCLA at No. 1 Indiana (adidas/IU Credit Union Classic), 2 p.m. ET (BTN)
Western Michigan at Michigan State, 2 p.m. ET
Northern Illinois at Ohio State (Wolstein Classic), 2:30 p.m. ET
Central Connecticut at Penn State, 7 p.m. ET