Senior CLASS Candidates

Sept. 4, 2015

The 2015 Senior CLASS candidates were announced for men’s and women’s soccer, with a combined six Big Ten standouts earning recognition. The list included Indiana’s Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Maryland’s Mael Corboz, Ohio State’s Zach Mason, Penn State’s Kyle MacDonald and Rutgers’ Brianne Reed and Erica Skroski.

Last season, Hollinger-Janzen, MacDonald, Mason, Reed and Skroski earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition. First-team All-Big Ten honors were awarded to Corboz, Hollinger-Janzen and Reed, while Skroski earned second-team nods. Additionally, Skroski was named to the 2014 Big Ten All-Tournament Team, Corboz was tabbed Offensive Player of the Tournament and Mason claimed Sportsmanship Award honors.

To be eligible for the award, a student must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student, encouraging them to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Each of the two candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.

For the full release, click here.