Big Ten Soccer Programs Earn United Soccer Coaches’ Team Academic Award
Oct. 12, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The United Soccer Coaches (formerly the NSCAA) have announced the soccer programs selected to receive the 2016-17 College Team Academic Award, with a combined 15 Big Ten Conference men’s and women’s soccer teams earning recognition, including four Big Ten schools (Indiana, Northwestern, Ohio State and Rutgers) that saw both their men’s and women’s soccer programs cited for academic excellence.

The United Soccer Coaches annually honor college and high school soccer programs that have displayed exemplary performance in the classroom, as well as on the field. A total of 842 soccer teams (296 men, 546 women) recorded a team grade-point average of 3.0 or better for the entire 2016-17 academic year, earning the United Soccer Coaches’ Team Academic Award.

Here’s a look at the Big Ten programs selected to this year’s United Soccer Coaches’ Team Academic Award list. For the complete United Soccer Coaches release, click here.

Men’s Soccer Programs
Indiana, 3.05
Michigan State, 3.46
Northwestern, 3.33
Ohio State, 3.33
Rutgers, 3.11

Women’s Soccer Programs
Illinois, 3.43
Indiana, 3.62
Iowa, 3.29
Nebraska, 3.42
Northwestern, 3.52
Ohio State, 3.45
Penn State, 3.38
Purdue, 3.40
Rutgers, 3.18
Wisconsin, 3.05