2016 Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament Bracket Announced

Oct. 30, 2016

2016 Bracket

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten announced the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament bracket on Sunday, with Maryland earning the No. 1 seed after clinching the outright Big Ten Championship. The tournament champion will earn the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. Last season, Maryland won the Big Ten Tournament title.

Michigan earned the No. 8 seed in the tournament, and will take on No. 9 Rutgers in the lone first-round game on Saturday, Nov. 5, in College Park, Md. The Wolverines and the Scarlet Knights played to a 1-1 draw on Oct. 7. Maryland (7-0-1 in Big Ten play) will host the Michigan-Rutgers winner in the quarterfinals on Sunday, Nov. 6.

Indiana claimed the No. 2 seed after concluding the Big Ten season with a 3-0-5 conference record. The Hoosiers will host No. 7 Northwestern (3-4-1) in Sunday’s quarterfinals. Indiana and Northwestern will be meeting for the second time, as the two squads played to a scoreless draw earlier this season.

Wisconsin (4-2-2) earned the No. 3 seed in the Big Ten Tournament and will host No. 6 Ohio State (3-4-1) on Sunday in the quarterfinals. The Badgers defeated the Buckeyes 2-1, on Sunday.

Michigan State garnered the No. 4 seed in the Big Ten Tournament after posting a 4-3-1 conference record. The Spartans will entertain No. 5 Penn State (4-4-0) in Sunday’s quarterfinals. The Nittany Lions defeated the Spartans, 1-0, on Oct. 15. 



The first round and quarterfinals of the tournament will take place on Saturday, Nov. 5 and Sunday, Nov. 6, respectively. The semifinals and championship match are scheduled for Friday, Nov. 11 and Sunday, Nov. 13. The first round of the tournament will take place at Maryland. Quarterfinals will be hosted by the top four seeds, and the semifinals and championship match will be played at Grand Park in Westfield, Ind.

BTN will broadcast Maryland’s quarterfinal matchup with either Michigan or Rutgers at 4 p.m. ET on Sunday. The semifinals will be broadcast live on BTN at noon and 2:30 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 11. The championship game will be carried live at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 13. All the games can also be streamed via the web, smartphones, tablets and connected devices on BTN2Go, BTN’s digital extension.