Men's and Women's Soccer Senior CLASS Awards

Nov. 2, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Tanner Thompson of Indiana men’s soccer, Simone Kolander of Minnesota women’s soccer and Rose Lavelle of Wisconsin women’s soccer were all selected as finalists for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award.


On top of being a two-time All-America honoree on the pitch, Thompson is also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. The 2015 Big Ten Midfielder of the Year also contributes to the community, having participated in Read Across America at a children’s therapy center in Bloomington.


Kolander is also an All-America honoree, but focuses in the classroom as much as she does on the field, earning Academic All-Big Ten honors in the past two seasons. Kolander, the two-time Big Ten Forward of the Year, has volunteered with several local organizations during her time at Minnesota including the following: University of Minnesota Children’s Hospital, Girls and Women in Sport Conference, HopeKids, Feed My Starving Children, Science Museum of Minnesota and the Sanneh Foundation.


Lavelle, the two-time Big Ten Midfielder of the Year, has participated in many community service events with the Badgers Give Back program. She has been extremely involved with Wish Upon A Badger Experience with Women’s Soccer, Thank-A-Thon, Youth Soccer Clinics and Make Bo Pay.


The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 21. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the recipient. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.