Big Ten Announces Men’s Soccer Postseason Honors
Nov. 3, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2017 men’s soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Friday, with Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State and Wisconsin collecting individual honors. The Badgers’ Christopher Mueller was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year, Indiana’s Grant Lilliard earned Defensive Player of the Year and Maryland’s Eryk Williamson claimed Midfielder of the Year honors. Jimmy Hague of Michigan State collected Goalkeeper of the Year accolades, Indiana’s Mason Toye earned Freshman of the Year recognition and Michigan’s Chaka Daley was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. 

Mueller earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year accolades after leading the Badgers with 29 points on eight goals and 13 assists this season. The senior finished the regular season ranked first in the conference in assists and assists per game (0.87) as well as second in the conference in goals and goals per game (0.53). Mueller’s award marks the second Badger named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, the first since Tomislav Zadro in 2013.

Lillard earned unanimous Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year accolades after leading the Hoosiers’ backline that has only allowed four goals this season. Indiana boasts a conference-leading 13 shutouts, including five in Big Ten play. Lillard is the first Hoosier to earn Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Williamson became the first Maryland student to earn Big Ten Midfielder Player of the Year plaudits. The junior scored six goals and tallied five assists this season to help Maryland to a 10-4-3 overall record and five Big Ten wins.

Hague earned Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year honors after registering 10 shutouts on the season. He has registered 45 saves and allowed only nine goals in 16 games. Hague is the first Spartan to earn Goalkeeper of the Year plaudits.

Toye earned unanimous Big Ten Freshman of the Year accolades after leading the conference in goals (9), goals per game (0.53) and game winning goals (5). He finished second in points with 19. Toye is the 14th Hoosier tabbed Big Ten Freshman of the Year and the first since Grant Lillard in 2014.

Daley claims his first career Big Ten Coach of the Year honor after leading Michigan to an 11-4-2 record and a 6-1-1 mark in conference play. The Wolverines finished fourth in Big Ten play in points (69), goals (23) and goals per game (1.35) en route to a No. 12 RPI ranking. Daley helped Michigan to claim its first outright Big Ten regular season title and the No. 1 seed in the tournament.

The rest of the All-Big Ten first team consisted of Indiana’s Francesco Moore and Andrew Gutman, Michigan State’s Ken Krolicki and Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan’s Jack Hallahan and Maryland’s Jake Rozhansky.

The Big Ten also recognized nine Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The complete list of All-Big Ten honorees and Sportsmanship Award recipients can be found below.

The first round of the Big Ten Tournament opens Saturday with No. 8 Northwestern versus No. 9 Rutgers, hosted by Michigan, followed by the four quarterfinal games on Sunday, hosted by Michigan, Indiana, Michigan State and Maryland. The semifinals and the championship match will be held at Grand Park in Westfield, Ind., on Nov. 10 and Nov. 12, respectively.

2017 Men's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams

First Team:
Christopher Mueller, Sr., Wisconsin
Mason Toye, Fr., Indiana
Jack Hallahan, So., Michigan
Eryk Williamson, Jr., Maryland
Ken Krolicki, Sr., Michigan State
Jake Rozhansky, Sr., Maryland
Francesco Moore, Jr., Indiana
Andrew Gutman, Jr., Indiana
Jimmy Hague, Jr., Michigan State

Second Team:
Griffin Dorsey, Fr., Indiana
Francis Atuahene, Jr., Michigan
DeJuan Jones, Jr., Michigan State
Ryan Sierakowski, Jr., Michigan State
Abdi Mohamed, Jr., Ohio State
Robbie Mertz, Jr., Michigan
Mark Segbers, Sr., Wisconsin
Donovan Pines, So., Maryland
Timmy Mehl, Jr., Indiana
Marcello Borges, Jr., Michigan
Trey Muse, Fr., Indiana

Offensive Player of the Year: Christopher Mueller, Wisconsin
Defensive Player of the Year: GRANT LILLARD, INDIANA
Midfielder of the Year: Eryk Williamson, Maryland
Goalkeeper of the Year: Jimmy Hague, Michigan State
Freshman of the Year: MASON TOYE, INDIANA
Coach of the Year: Chaka Daley, Michigan

All-Freshman Team:
Trey Muse, Indiana
Tommy Katsyiannis, Northwestern
Vincent Borden, Rutgers
Bryce Washington, Rutgers

UNANIMOUS selections listed in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Jack Griffith, Sr., Indiana
Andrew Samuels, Jr., Maryland
Tristan Jacob, Sr., Michigan
Brad Centala, Sr., Michigan State
Francisco Tomasino, Sr., Northwestern
Hunter Robertson, Sr., Ohio State
Dani Marks, Jr., Penn State
Erik Sa, Sr., Rutgers
Isaac Schlenker, Jr., Wisconsin