Two Big Ten Players Named As Semifinalists For Men's Soccer MAC Hermann Trophy

Nov. 4, 2004

PARK RIDGE, IL - Two Big Ten men's soccer student-athletes have been named as semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy as Indiana's Drew Moor and Danny O'Rourke made the cut of 15 players. The M.A.C. Hermann Trophy is the official National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Player of the Year award for Division I schools.

Moor, a First Team All-Big Ten selection last year, has helped anchor an Indiana defense that posted eight shutouts and a goals against average of 0.59 through the 2004 regular season. A team tri-captain, Moor was named to the Soccer America National Team of the Week on September 13 after scoring both Hoosiers' goals in an overtime match against Cal State Fullerton in the Mike Berticelli Memorial Tournament. The junior defender transferred from Furman after his freshman year and has started all 37 games as a Hoosier.

O'Rourke, a First Team All-Big Ten selection each of the last two years, has been a mainstay for the Hoosier defense, as the team posted a goals against average of 0.59 with 43 shutouts in his four-year career. The senior midfielder scored the only two goals of his career this season against Oregon State and Evansville and has started in every game played for Indiana (77). O'Rourke was tabbed as a first team preseason All-American by College Soccer News and earned Soccer America National Team of the Week and Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors.

The winner will be determined in voting by NSCAA Division I member coaches. Three men's and three women's finalists will be named at the 2004 Men's College Cup in December. The finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., on Friday, January 7, 2005, where the winner will be announced at a press conference and presented with the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy at a banquet later that evening.