Big Ten Conference Announces Men's Soccer Postseason Honors

Nov. 4, 2016

All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Honors

– The Big Ten Conference announced the 2016 Men’s Soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Friday, with three Big Ten schools earning individual accolades. Indiana’s Tanner Thompson was named Midfielder of the Year. Maryland’s Gordon Wild, Alex Crognale, Cody Niedermeier and Sasho Cirovski claimed Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Goalkeeper and Coach of the Year plaudits, respectively, while Michigan State’s Giuseppe Barone earned Freshman of the Year honors.


Wild currently leads the conference with 34 points, 15 goals and six game-winning goals, including 14 points and six game-winning goals in Big Ten play. The sophomore forward earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week three times this season.


Thompson earns a spot on the first team for the third straight season after leading the Hoosier’s, with eight goals and two assists during the 2016 campaign. The Academic All-Big Ten honoree also leads Indiana with four game-winning goals.


Crognale anchored a Maryland back line that allowed just eight goals in Big Ten games, the second-lowest mark in the conference. He also scored six goals as part of the Terrapins’ Big Ten Championship winning squad. Crognale earns first-team All-Big Ten honors for the first time in his career.




Niedermeier tallied six shutouts this season, posted a save percentage of .737 and tallied a 0.83 goals against average. He earned Defensive Player of the Week once this season.


Barone recorded eight points on two goals and four assists on the year and has started all 15 matches he has played in for the Spartans.


Cirovski earns Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the first time since Maryland joined the conference in 2014. The Terrapins are an undefeated 15-0-2 overall and tallied a 7-0-1 conference record, earning the Terrapins the Big Ten Championship and the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. Cirovski has made 21 NCAA Tournament appearances with Maryland, most recently taking the Terrapins to the quarterfinals in 2015.


Crognale, Thompson and Wild were unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections along with Penn State’s Connor Maloney. Other first-team honorees include Indiana’s Grant Lillard, Maryland’s Niedermeier, Chris Odoi-Atsem and Amar Sejdic, Michigan’s Francis Atuahene, Michigan State’s Ryan Sierakowski and Wisconsin’s Chris Mueller.


The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman Team, can be found in the attached document.


The Big Ten also recognized nine Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found in the attached document.


The first round of the Big Ten Tournament opens Saturday with No. 8 Michigan versus No. 9 Rutgers, hosted by Maryland, followed by the four quarterfinal games on Sunday, hosted by Indiana, Maryland, Michigan State and Wisconsin. The semifinals and the championship match will be held at Grand Park in Westfield, Ind., on Nov. 11 and Nov. 13, respectively.