Men's Soccer Championship Bracket

Nov. 6, 2005

Complete Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The 2005 Big Ten Men's Soccer Championship bracket was released today by the conference office. Four league teams closed out their Big Ten schedules this weekend as Ohio State defeated Michigan, 1-0, Friday, to claim second place in the league standings while Wisconsin got past Northwestern, 2-1, on Sunday, to earn sixth. Northwestern will serve as the host for this year's championship from November 10-13 at the Leonard B. Thomas Sports Complex.

Penn State enters the 2005 Men's Soccer Championship as the No. 1 seed riding its longest winning streak since 2002 with seven straight victories. The Nittany Lions went undefeated in conference play this season, a perfect 6-0, setting a new school record for Big Ten victories in a season. They received a first-round bye and will face the winner of game two on Friday, Nov. 11 at noon.

Ohio State closed out its regular season with a 3-2-1 league record and enters the championship as the No. 2 seed. The Buckeyes will face seventh-seeded Northwestern in game three on Thursday at 2:30 p.m. The Wildcats finished 1-4-1 in the Big Ten despite posting a winning overall record.

Defending national champion Indiana finished its regular season with a 2-1-3 mark in the conference and an overall record of 10-1-6. The Hoosiers, ranked fifth in the latest NSCAA/adidas National Rankings, were awarded the No. 3 spot in the upcoming championship and will face Wisconsin Thursday, Nov. 10 in game two set for 11:45 a.m.   

Michigan State is the No. 3 seed with a 2-3-1 mark in Big Ten action. The Spartans will take the field at 9:00 a.m. in the first game of the championship against Michigan who was awarded the No. 5 spot after defeating Wisconsin in head-to-head competition as the Wolverines claimed victory over the Badgers, 4-2 on Oct. 23. Michigan enters the championship with 2-4 conference and 8-9-1 overall marks.

The 2005 championship title game is set for Sunday, November 14 at 11 a.m., and will be televised live by College Sports Television (CSTV). For complete championship coverage, visit the conference website at