Big Ten Announces Men's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Awards

Nov. 10, 2005

The Big Ten office announced the 2005 All-Big Ten and All-Freshman men's soccer teams, as well as individual award winners today. Indiana's Brian Plotkin was selected as Player of the Year, while freshman Lee Nguyen also nabbed an individual honor as he was dubbed Freshman Player of the Year. Nittany Lion head coach Barry Gorman garnered Coach of the Year accolades.

Plotkin, the 2005 Player of the Year, is only the second Indiana player to claim two career individual men's soccer awards, as he was named Freshman of the Year in 2002. The senior has been a guiding force on offense for the Hoosiers and led the league with 25 points, scoring eight goals, assisting on nine and tallying four game-winners for the season. Plotkin, a three-time Offensive Player of the Week selection this year, also helped Indiana beat Akron, the nation's top-ranked team after he scored the game-winning goal in the 1-0 victory on Nov. 3.

Nguyen is the seventh Hoosier to claim Freshman of the Year laurels, the first since Jed Zayner shared the honor with Northwestern's Gerardo Alvarez in 2003. This is the first time since 1997 that an Indiana player has won the honor outright. Nguyen was second on the team in points (21) with five goals and 11 assists in 18 games played this season.

Penn State's Gorman guided the Nittany Lions to a 10-6-2 overall record and a 6-0 conference mark. Since being named head coach in 1988, the team has recorded at least 10 wins in 15 of his 16 seasons. Penn State claimed its first Big Ten regular season title in program history with a 1-0 overtime victory against Michigan State on Oct. 23. This is Gorman's first Coach of the Year award.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for men's soccer are Indiana's Jed Zayner, Michigan's Trai Blanks, Michigan State's John Kaczmarek, Northwestern's Jaro Pylypczak, Ohio State's Antonio Garcia, Penn State's David Gray and Wisconsin's Aaron Hohlbein. These five student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

2005 Men's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams

Position             First Team                      Second Team

Forward          Lee Nguyen, IND           Kevin Nugent, OSU
                      Jacob Peterson, IND      Victor Diaz, WIS
                      Brad North, NU             Jason Yeisley, PSU
                      Simon Omekanda, PSU

Midfield           BRIAN PLOTKIN, IND      Josh Tudela, IND
                      Ryan McMahen, MSU     *Dave Roth, NU
                      David Walters, PSU       Brent Rohrer, OSU
                                                      Brian Devlin, PSU

Defense          Brad Napper, NU           Jed Zayner, IND
                      Kyle Veris, OSU            Steve Doster, MSU
                      Aaron Hohlbein, WIS     *Dustin Kirby, OSU
                                                      Markuu Viitanen, PSU

      Conrad Taylor, PSU      Pete Dzubay, MICH                             

2005 Men's Soccer All-Freshman Team

Forward        LEE NGUYEN, IND
                    JASON YEISLEY, PSU
                    VICTOR DIAZ, WIS

         Brad Ring, IND
                    DANNY IRIZARRY, OSU
                    Christoph Ascheri, PSU
                    Kenny Dix, WIS

                    MIKE HOLODY, MICH
                    Andy Miller, WIS


Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jed Zayner, IND
Trai Blanks, MICH
John Kaczmarek, MSU
Jaro Pylypczak, NU
Antonio Garcia, OSU
David Gray, PSU
Aaron Hohlbein, WIS

Player of the Year: Brian Plotkin, IND
Coach of the Year: BARRY GORMAN, PSU
Freshman of the Year: Lee Nguyen, IND

* Tie