Big Ten Conference Announces Men's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams and Postseason Honors

Tommy Meyer is one of six Hoosiers to earn All-Big Ten accolades.

Nov. 10, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its men's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners at the Big Ten Tournament banquet on Thursday evening. Ohio State's Chris Hegngi takes home Offensive Player of the Year accolades, while teammate David Tiemstra earns the Defensive Player of the Year award. Indiana's Eriq Zavaleta receives Freshman of the Year honors, and Northwestern head coach Tim Lenahan reels in the Coach of the Year award.

Hegngi earns recognition as the conference's top offensive player after racking up 18 points on nine goals in 18 matches this season. The Buckeye forward finished the regular season atop the conference in points (10) and goals (five), helping Ohio State to a second-place conference finish. He becomes the first Ohio State player to earn the award since it was established in 2009.

Tiemstra led an Ohio State defensive crew that allowed 20 goals in 18 regular-season matches this season, including just seven in the teams six Big Ten contests, en route to his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award. His win marks the third year in a row Ohio State has won the award.

Zavaleta receives recognition as the Big Ten's top newcomer after leading the highest-scoring offense in the conference. He led the Big Ten in points (21) in all games, and tied for second in points (seven) and goals (three) in conference play. Zavaleta becomes the 11th Indiana player to earn the award, and the first since Will Bruin in 2008.

Lenahan earns the first Coach of the Year award of his career after guiding Northwestern to the Big Ten title. The Wildcats put together a 10-4-4 overall record and a 4-0-2 mark in conference play. The award marks the first time a Northwestern coach has earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Hegngi, Tiemstra and Zavaleta all earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and are joined by Indiana's Chris Estridge, Nikita Kotlov, Tommy Meyer and Alec Purdie, Michigan State's Cyrus Sadee, Northwestern's Oliver Kupe and Tyler Miller and Wisconsin's Tomislav Zadro. Estridge, Kupe, Tiemstra, and Zavaleta were all unanimous choices for first-team honors. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman Team, can be found below.



The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Hegngi, Ohio State
Defensive Player of the Year: David Tiemstra, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: ERIQ ZAVALETA, Indiana
Coach of the Year: TIM LENAHAN, Northwestern

All-Big Ten Teams
First Team

Nikita Kotlov, M, Indiana
Tommy Meyer, D, Indiana
Alec Purdie, F, Indiana
Cyrus Sadee, M, Michigan State
OLIVER KUPE, F, Northwestern
Tyler Miller, GK, Northwestern
Chris Hegngi, F, Ohio State
Tomislav Zadro, M, Wisconsin

Second Team
Latif Alashe, M, Michigan
Kofi Opare, D, Michigan
Mark Barone, D, Michigan State
Adam Montague, F, Michigan State
Nikko Boxall, D, Northwestern
Chris Ritter, M, Northwestern
Lepe Seetane, M, Northwestern
Parnell Hegngi, F, Ohio State
Matt Lampson, GK, Ohio State
Austin McAnena, M, Ohio State
Chris Prince, F, Wisconsin

All-Freshman Team
Kerel Bradford, M, Indiana
Fatai Alashe, M, Michigan State
RYAN KEENER, D, Michigan State
ADAM MONTAGUE, F, Michigan State
NIKKO BOXALL, D, Northwestern
TYLER MILLER, GK, Northwestern
Kenny Cunningham, F, Ohio State
Brady Wahl, M, Ohio State
AJ Cochran, D, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Kerel Bradford, Indiana
Tim Bergsma, Michigan
Garret Back, Michigan State
Peter O'Neill, Northwestern
Sage Gardner, Ohio State
Jacob Barron, Penn State
Blake Succa, Wisconsin