Big Ten Conference Announces Men's Soccer Postseason Awards

Nov. 11, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its men's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners at the Big Ten Tournament banquet on Thursday evening. Indiana's Will Bruin takes home Offensive Player of the Year accolades, while Ohio State's David Tiemstra earns the Defensive Player of the Year award and Michigan's Soony Saad receives Freshman of the Year honors. Indiana head coach Todd Yeagley reels in the Coach of the Year award.

Bruin earns recognition as the conference's top offensive player after racking up 33 points on 15 goals and three assists in 17 matches this season. The Hoosier striker finished the regular season tied for the conference lead and tied for second in the country in goals, helping Indiana to its 12th Big Ten title. He becomes the first Indiana player to earn the award since it was established in 2009.

Tiemstra anchored an Ohio State defensive crew that allowed a conference-low 12 goals in 17 matches this season, including just five in the teams six Big Ten matches, en route to Defensive Player of the Year honors. The junior helped the Buckeyes to nine shutouts, good for first in the conference. Tiemstra is the second consecutive Ohio State player to receive the award after Doug Verhoff earned the nod in 2009.

Saad receives recognition as the Big Ten's top newcomer after leading the highest-scoring offense in the conference. He led the Big Ten in shots (112) and points (34) and finished tied for first in the conference and second in the country in goals (15) in 17 matches. Saad becomes the first Michigan player to earn the award.

Yeagley earns the first Coach of the Year award of his career after guiding Indiana to the Big Ten title. The Hoosiers put together a 9-6-2 overall record and a 4-1-1 mark in conference play, closing out the regular season at No. 8 in the RPI. The award marks the 11th time an Indiana coach has earned the award, eight of which were given to Jerry Yeagley.



Bruin, Saad and Tiemstra all earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and are joined by Indiana's Andy Adlard and Rich Balchan, Michigan State's Colin Givens and Spencer Thompson, Ohio State's Matt Lampson and Konrad Warzycha and Penn State's Matheus Braga and Corey Hertzog. Braga, Bruin, Givens and Hertzog were all unanimous choices for first-team honors. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman Team, can be found below.

The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Offensive Player of the Year: Will Bruin, Indiana
Defensive Player of the Year: David Tiemstra, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Soony Saad, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Todd Yeagley, Indiana

All-Big Ten Teams

First Team
Andy Adlard, M, Indiana
Rich Balchan, D, Indiana
WILL BRUIN, F, Indiana
Soony Saad, F, Michigan
COLIN GIVENS, D, Michigan State
Spencer Thompson, M, Michigan State
Matt Lampson, GK, Ohio State
David Tiemstra, D, Ohio State
Konrad Warzycha, M, Ohio State

Second Team*
Tommy Meyer, D, Indiana
Justin Meram, F, Michigan
Hamoody Saad, M, Michigan
Domenic Barone, F, Michigan State
Kevin Cope, D, Michigan State
Avery Steinlage, GK, Michigan State
Matt Eliason, M, Northwestern
Oliver Kupe, F, Northwestern
Matt Gold, M, Ohio State
Drew Cost, M, Penn State
Aaron Nichols, D, Wisconsin
Chris Prince, F, Wisconsin

All-Freshman Team*
Jacob Bushue, M, Indiana
Nikita Kotlov, F, Indiana
Fabio Pereira, M, Michigan
SOONY SAAD, F, Michigan
Josh Barens, M, Michigan State
Layth Masri, D, Northwestern
Lepe Seetane, M, Northwestern
Sage Gardner, D, Ohio State
Brendan Birmingham, GK, Penn State
Nick Janus, M, Wisconsin
CHRIS PRINCE, F, Wisconsin
PAUL YONGA, D, Wisconsin

* Additional honorees due to a tie
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Caleb Konstanski, So., Indiana
Alex Wood, Sr., Michigan
Jeff Ricondo, Sr., Michigan State
Jack Hillgard, Sr., Northwestern
Sam Scales, Sr., Ohio State
Drew Cost, Sr., Penn State
Jon Rzepka, Sr., Wisconsin