Men's Soccer Postseason Honors

Nov. 12, 2014

2014 All-Big Ten and Individual Honors Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2014 Men’s Soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Wednesday, with five Big Ten teams earning accolades. Penn State’s Connor Maloney collected Offensive Player of the Year honors, Northwestern’s Nikko Boxall was named Defensive Player of the Year, Michigan State’s Jay Chapman claimed Midfielder of the Year plaudits and Indiana’s Grant Lillard was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Northwestern’s Tyler Miller was a unanimous selection for Goalkeeper of the Year, while Ohio State’s John Bluem was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

To watch the unveiling of the 2014 individual honors and All-Big Ten Teams on Kevin Egan’s BTN Soccer Report, click here.

Maloney has totaled 21 points this season, including nine goals and three assists. He leads the Big Ten in game-winning goals with five, and earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors on Sept. 29. Maloney was a unanimous selection on the 2013 Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

Boxall anchored a Northwestern back line that allowed just 11 goals, the lowest mark in the Big Ten. He also scored two goals and collected three assists. Last season, Boxall earned second team All-Big Ten honors, and was a first team selection in 2012.

Chapman earns a spot on the All-Big Ten first team for the second straight year after leading the Spartans with four goals and posting 12 total points on the season. He has also tallied four assists heading into the Big Ten Tournament semifinals.

Lillard has started all 19 matches this season, scoring four goals and adding one assist. He was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week on Oct. 27.

Miller currently leads the Big Ten in goals against average (0.56) and save percentage (.853), and has tallied nine shutouts this season. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2011 and 2012. Miller earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors on Sept. 22 and Nov. 6.

Bluem earned Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in his career this season after leading Ohio State to the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament and a berth in the semifinals. He has led the Buckeyes to four Big Ten titles and eight appearances in the NCAA Tournament.

Boxall, Chapman, Maloney and Miller all earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Indiana’s Femi Hollinger-Janzen and Tanner Thompson, Maryland’s Mael Corboz, Dan Metzger, Chris Odoi-Atsem and Alex Shinsky, Michigan’s Colin McAtee and Ohio State’s Liam Doyle. Maloney and Miller were unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman team, can be found below.

The Big Ten also recognized nine Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found in the attached PDF.