Maryland Wins Third Straight Big Ten Men’s Soccer Tournament Title

Nov. 13, 2016

WESTFIELD, Ind. – The top-seeded Maryland men’s soccer team won its third consecutive Big Ten Tournament Championship after defeating Wisconsin, 2-1, in Sunday’s championship game at Grand Park. 

With the win, the Terrapins earned the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. Maryland will make its 16th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, and 34th trip in program history.

The Terps’ D.J. Reeves scored the opening goal in the second minute, with Suli Dainkeh providing the assist. Wisconsin responded in the 12th minute, after Tom Barlow slipped a ball past Maryland goalkeeper Cody Niedermeier. Sebastian Elney headed-in the Terrapins’ game-winning goal in the 43rd minute following a corner kick from Jorge Calix. Niedermeier ended the game with seven saves.

The NCAA Selection Show will air live on on Monday, Nov. 14, beginning at 1 p.m. ET.

All-Tournament Team
Francesco Moore, Indiana

Alex Crognale, Maryland

Cody Niedermeier, Maryland



Gordon Wild, Maryland

Francis Atuahene, Michigan

Dewey Lewis, Michigan State

Nate Dearth, Northwestern

Niall Logue, Ohio State

Robby Sagel, Penn State

Tom Barlow, Wisconsin

Philipp Schilling, Wisconsin

Offensive Player of the Tournament: Gordon Wild, Maryland
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Alex Crognale, Maryland