Three Big Ten Men's Soccer Teams Earn NCAA Berths

Nov. 14, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

NCAA Champioship Bracket

Three Big Ten teams earned berths to the 2005 NCAA Men's Soccer Championship as announced today by the Division I Men's Soccer Committee. Ohio State will compete in first round action, while Indiana and Penn State receive first-round byes after being awarded the No. 3 and 11 seeds, respectively.

Indiana (13-2-6) was awarded the No. 3 seed overall and will host a second round game. The Hoosiers are making their 19th straight NCAA appearance and will square off against the winner of first-round action between Notre Dame (10-7-3) and Mid-Continent Conference champion Western Illinois (6-9-4. IU has produced all-time winning records against both possible foes, leading Notre Dame, 22-3-1, and Western Illinois, 1-0-1.

Big Ten champion Penn State, 12-6-2 and riding a nine-game winning streak, enters the championship as the No. 11 seed and will host the winner of the first round game between Seton Hall (12-3-3) and the Atlantic Soccer Conference champion Hartwick (13-5-1) on Tuesday, Nov. 22. Penn State has compiled a 7-6-1 all-time record over Seton Hall and an 8-13-4 mark against Hartwick. The Nittany Lions will make their 10th NCAA Championship appearance after defeating Indiana 1-0 to claim their third-ever Big Ten title and the automatic bid to postseason play. This marks the first time in school history that PSU has claimed both the regular season and Big Ten Championship titles and this year was the first time the Lions have defeated Indiana twice in the same season.

In first round action, Ohio State (11-7-2) will make its fourth postseason appearance as it travels to California to take on Santa Clara (12-6-2) Friday, Nov. 18 at 7 p.m. PT.

The 47th annual NCAA Division I Men's College Cup will be played December 9 and 11 at the SAS Soccer Stadium in Cary, N.C. Indiana, Michigan State and Wisconsin are the only Big Ten teams to have won NCAA Championship titles. The defending NCAA champion Hoosiers have won seven titles, Michigan State claimed back-to-back titles in 1967 and 1968 and the Badgers won their only men's soccer title in 1995.

Friday, Nov. 18 -- First Round
Santa Clara, Calif
Ohio State (11-7-2) vs. Santa Clara (12-6-2), 7:00 p.m. PT

Tuesday, Nov. 22 -- Second Round
University Park, Pa.

No. 1 Penn State (12-6-2) vs. Seton Hall (12-3-3)/Hartwick (13-5-1), TBA

Bloomington, Ind.
Indiana (13-2-6) vs. Notre Dame (10-7-3)/Western Illinois (6-9-4), TBA